2014/15 SLSNSW Awards of Excellence

The Awards of Excellence recognises outstanding achievements and contributions in all aspects of Surf Life Saving. The awards will celebrate the accomplishments of members, clubs and branches in the 2014/15 season.

The Surf Life Saving NSW Awards of Excellence proudly presented by Stramit Building Products will be held on Saturday 29 August 2015 at the Four Seasons Hotel Sydney. The theme for the evening will be Glitz and Glam meaning dress formal with a bit of sparkle.

We are very pleased to announce that once again seven time world champion surfer, Layne Beachley will be the Master of Ceremonies for the evening. If you were unlucky enough to miss out on last year’s event, ask around and you’ll soon discover what an amazing MC Layne is!

Whether you are a finalist for the Awards, the cheer squad for a finalist or you just want to have an amazing night out with friends, family and like-minded clubbies from across the state, then make sure you get your tickets ASAP. Ticket prices include three course dinner, beverages, live entertainment and door prizes.

Join the Facebook event here to keep up to date with ticket sales and more.


Education award winners

  • Trainer of the Year: Beck Mister, Coogee SLSC
  • Assessor of the Year: Craig Howie, Coogee SLSC
  • Facilitator of the Year: Rod Balkin, Ballina Lighthouse & Lismore SLSC
  • Community Education Program of the Year: Project 291, Bellambi SLSC

Member Services award winners

  • Administrator of the Year: Joanne Hawkins, Tacking Point SLSC
  • Team of the Year: Taplin U17, U19 and Opens, Newport SLSC.
  • Initiative of the Year: Adopt a Nipper, The Entrance SLSC

Surf Sports award winners

  • Masters Athlete of the Year: Paul Lemmon, Terrigal SLSC
  • Young Athlete of the Year: Lizzie Welborn, North Bondi SLSC
  • Coach of the Year: Trent Herring, Newport SLSC
  • Official of the Year: Ray McDonagh, South West Rocks SLSC
  • Athlete of the Year: Georgia Miller, Newport SLSC

Lifesaving award winners

  • Junior Lifesavers of the Year: Brianna Clarkson, Brunswick SLSC and Reed van Huisstede, Cooks Hill SLSC
  • Young Lifesaver of the Year: Julien Vincent, Coogee SLSC
  • Rescue of the Year: Richard Garnsey, Cronulla SLSC
  • Lifeguard of the Year: Ken Walsh, Shoalhaven.

Major award winners

  • 2015 Branch of the Year award winner, Surf Life Saving Sydney Northern Beaches Branch
  • 2015 Club of the Year award winner, Cudgen Headland Surf Life Saving Club
  • 2015 Volunteer of the Year award winner, Glenn Clarke from The Entrance SLSC
  • 2015 Surf Lifesaver of the Year award winner Rosemarie Taliano, North Bondi SLSC

2015 Awards of Excellence

2015 SLSNSW Awards of Excellence