2015/16 SLSNSW Awards of Excellence

The Awards of Excellence proudly presented by Stramit recognises outstanding achievements and contributions in all aspects of Surf Life Saving.

The awards celebrated the accomplishments of members, clubs and branches in the 2015/16 season.

2016 Award Winners


  • Trainer of the Year - Kerrie Hammell (Cronulla SLSC)
  • Facilitator of the Year - Ramzy Fawzy (Wamberal SLSC)
  • Community Education Program of the Year - Surf Life Saving Central Coast, Community Surf Education Program

Member Services

  • Team of the Year - Bulli Open Mens Boat Crew
  • Administrator of the Year - Brienna Elford (South West Rocks SLSC)
  • Initiative of the Year - Avalon Beach SLSC Youth Program

Surf Sports

  • Surf Sports Official of the Year - Wayne Druery (Cronulla SLSC)
  • Surf Sports Coach of the Year - Peter Spence (Palm Beach SLSC)
  • Masters Athlete of the Year - Laura Thurtell (Forster SLSC)
  • Young Athlete of the Year - Jemma Smith (Umina Beach SLSC)
  • Athlete of the Year - Daniel Collins (Redhead SLSC)


  • Junior Lifesaver of the Year (Male) - Byron Vinkovic (Shellharbour SLSC)
  • Junior Lifesaver of the Year (Female)- Ella Cook (Narrabeen Beach SLSC)
  • Lifeguard of the Year - Angus Macphail, Tweed Shire Council
  • Rescue of the Year - Macksville -Scotts Head SLSC
  • Young Lifesaver of the Year - Samantha Hallett (Caves Beach SLSC)


  • Stramit Club of the Year - North Bondi SLSC
  • Branch of the Year - Central Coast
  • Volunteer of the Year - Sussan Hunt (Batemans Bay SLSC)
  • Surf Lifesaver of the Year - Kane Hughes (North Cronulla SLSC)


2016 Awards of Excellence photos