2017 SLSNSW Awards of Excellence

The Awards of Excellence proudly presented by Stramit recognise the outstanding achievements and contributions in all aspects of Surf Life Saving. The awards will celebrate the accomplishments of members, clubs and branches in the 2016/17 season.

2017 Awards of Excellence winners:

Surf Sports

  • Official of the Year - Wayne Scott (Red Rock-Corindi)
  • Youth Athlete of the Year - Jemma Smith (Umina)
  • Athlete of the Year - Jake Lynch (Newport)
  • Masters Athlete of the Year - Paul Lemmon (Terrigal)
  • Sport Team of the Year - Open First Aid Team (Freshwater)
  • Coach of the Year - Jock Campbell (Wanda)

Member Services

  • Administrator of the Year - Trish Watts (Shelly Beach)
  • Services Team of the Year - Member Services Team (Mid North Coast)


  • Trainer of the Year - Susan Croad (Hat Head)
  • Assessor of the Year - Ramzy Fawzy (Wamberal)
  • Facilitator of the Year - Janne Moran (Pacific Palms)
  • Initiative of the Year - Special Needs Branch Championships (Mona Vale)
  • Community Education Program of the Year - Central Coast Branch


  • Junior Lifesaver of the Year - Elliott Prasad (Narrabeen Beach)
  • Junior Lifesaver of the Year - Matilda Shirley (Byron Bay)
  • Young Lifesaver of the Year - Ryan Chiswell (Ocean Beach)
  • ALS Lifeguard of the Year - Jai Sheridan (Byron Shire)
  • Rescue of the Year - Camden Haven SLSC


  • Branch of the Year - Surf Life Saving Sydney
  • Club of the Year - Bermagui SLSC
  • Volunteer of the Year - Wayne Druery (Cronulla)
  • Surf Lifesaver of the Year - Lara Boyle (Whale Beach)


Available Documents


Branch nominations have now closed. Please contact Nixy Krite if you would like further information.