Awards of Excellence

The Surf Life Saving NSW Awards of Excellence proudly presented by Stramit Building Products recognise the hard work, selflessness and enthusiasm of our volunteers. As we head into a new patrolling season, we look back on the past year and acknowledge the outstanding contribution our members make.



Education award winners

  • Trainer of the Year: Kathryn Donnelly, Nobbys SLSC
  • Assessor of the Year: Robert Powell, Umina SLSC
  • Facilitator of the Year: Debbie Booth, Tea Gardens Hawks Nest SLSC
  • Community Education Program of the Year Award: Asia Pacific Special Olympics Australian Beach Experience and Community Education Programs, Surf Life Saving Hunter

Member Services award winners

  • Administrator of the Year: Maxine Cook, Tea Gardens Hawks Nest SLSC
  • Team of the Year: Newport SLSC U19 Male Water Competition Team
  • Initiative of the Year: ‘The After Dark Youth Program’ - Zachary Dibben & Jessica Cotterill, Dee Why SLSC

Surf Sports award winners

  • Masters Athlete of the Year: Dori Miller, Bondi SLSC
  • Young Athlete of the Year: Georgia Miller, Manly SLSC
  • Surf Sports Coach of the Year: Jack Patison, Austinmer SLSC
  • Surf Sports Official of the Year: Louis Tassone, North Curl Curl SLSC
  • Surfs Sports Athlete of the Year: Max Brooks, Newport SLSC

Lifesaving award winners

  • Junior Lifesavers of the Year: Isabella Ferencz, Cooks Hills SLSC and Jackson Heinze, Terrigal SLSC
  • Young Lifesaver of the Year: Jessica Rayner, Port Macquarie SLSC
  • Rescue of the Year: Tod Rowbotham, Freshwater SLSC
  • Lifeguard of the Year: Steve Mills, Byron Bay

Major award winners

  • 2014 Branch of the Year - Surf Life Saving Central Coast
  • 2014 Club of the Year - Ballina Lighthouse & Lismore SLSC
  • 2014 Volunteer of the Year - Andy Cross, South Narrabeen SLSC
  • 2014 Lifesaver of the Year - Allan Davis, Crowdy Head SLSC