Quality Club Program

The Quality Club Program has evolved over the past few years, with Surf Life Saving NSW committed to developing and maintaining the health and welfare of the clubs throughout the state.

Surf Life Saving NSW is dedicated to best practice operations and compliancy both on and off the beach. There are three levels in the program which clubs can become accredited in - Bronze, Silver and Gold.


Bronze status

  • Ensures that clubs are fulfilling the requirements under the Fair Trading NSW, the Office of Liquor Gaming and Racing, SLSNSW, SLSA and the Australian Charities and Not-For-Profit Commission
  • Provides increased credibility with local council, the public and government bodies
  • Creates an environment where quality is highly valued and acknowledged as the norm within the club
  • Provides quick and easy reference and identification of best practice operations in financial management administration, members services, lifesaving operations and club management

Each season clubs can complete all items within the Bronze level, including the compliance components from SLSNSW and relevant Government bodies.

Silver and Gold status

  • Provides direction and a pathway forward to gain recognition and ensure the future viability of the club
  • Provides the resources to enable clubs to achieve and conduct events and programs to enhance the experience to their members
  • Encourages the implementation of programs that will encourage the retention of existing members and increase of membership overall

Silver status is the intermediate level and focuses on the business and operational components of Surf Life Saving and club operations and management.

Gold status is the most advanced level and focuses on the high level continual improvement of Surf Life Saving Clubs. This level requires clubs to develop and use a future plan. Upon successful completion of the Bronze and then Silver levels, the club can apply for Gold status.

How to get involved

It is recommended to become involved in the program. When the club is ready to begin below are some points to consider:

  • The program starts at the beginning of the season and concludes on 30 June in the following year.
  • Register the club’s interest by submitting details in the registration form here.
  • SLSNSW has created a Dropbox tool for an online setup to access the templates and resources and to submit the required documentation and photos etc. The Quality Club Officers can review your submissions on a regular basis and provide feedback on your progress.
  • Upon successful completion of a the program, the club will be awarded the relevant accreditation. All levels remain current for one season after achieving accreditation.

Clubs can use their achievements from this program to attract more members, gain greater sponsorship opportunities and create a stronger presence in the eyes of council and government bodies.

Clubs who wish to become involved in the Quality Club Program please complete the registration form here.

2016-2017 Status


  • North Entrance SLSC
  • Ocean Beach SLSC
  • Soldiers Beach SLSC
  • Bronte SLSC
  • Bondi SLSC
  • Coledale SLSC
  • Red Rock-Corindi SLSC
  • Sawtell SLSC
  • Yamba SLSC
  • Avoca Beach SLSC
  • Terrigal SLSC
  • Warilla-Barrack Point SLSC


  • Woonona SLSC
  • Cudgen Headland SLSC
  • Maroubra SLSC


  • Shelly Beach SLSC

2015-2016 Status


  • Ballina Lighthouse & Lismore SLSC (Far North Coast Branch)
  • Tea Gardens-Hawks Nest SLSC (Hunter Branch)
  • Stockton SLSC (Hunter Branch)
  • North Bondi SLSC (Sydney Branch)
  • Cudgen Headland SLSC (Far North Coast Branch)
  • Redhead SLSC (Hunter Branch)
  • Fingal Beach SLSC (Hunter Branch)
  • Caves Beach SLSC (Hunter Branch)
  • Catherine Hill Bay SLSC (Hunter Branch)
  • Birubi Point SLSC (Hunter Branch)
  • Sawtell SLSC (North Coast Branch)
  • Maroubra SLSC (Sydney Branch)
  • Avoca Beach SLSC (Central Coast Branch)
  • Killcare SLSC (Central Coast Branch)
  • Ocean Beach SLSC (Central Coast Branch)
  • Bulli SLSC (Illawarra Branch)


  • North Cronulla SLSC (Sydney Branch)
  • Woonona SLSC (Illawarra Branch)

2014-2015 Status


  • Yamba SLSC (Far North Coast Branch)
  • Tea Gardens Hawks Nest SLSC (Hunter Branch)
  • Ballina Lighthouse & Lismore SLSC (Far North Coast Branch)
  • Nobbys SLSC (Hunter Branch)
  • Merewether SLSC (Hunter Branch)
  • Catherine Hill Bay SLSC (Hunter Branch)
  • Redhead SLSC (Hunter Branch)
  • North Cronulla SLSC (Sydney Branch)
  • Cronulla SLSC (Sydney Branch)
  • Woonona SLSC (Illawarra Branch)
  • Salt SLSC (Far North Coast Branch)

2013-2014 Status


  • Macksville Scotts Head (Mid North Coast Branch)
  • Fingal Beach (Hunter Branch)
  • Birubi Point (Hunter Branch)
  • Catherine Hill Bay (Hunter Branch)
  • The Entrance (Central Coast Branch)
  • North Avoca (Central Coast Branch)
  • Copacabana (Central Coast Branch)
  • Ocean Beach (Central Coast Branch)
  • Umina (Central Coast Branch)
  • Dee Why (Sydney Northern Beaches Branch)
  • Woonona (Illawarra Branch)


  • Tea Gardens Hawks Nest (Hunter Branch)
  • Nobby’s (Hunter Branch)
  • Caves Beach (Hunter Branch)
  • Umina (Central Coast)
  • Woonona (Illawarra Branch)


  • Tea Gardens Hawks Nest (Hunter Branch)

Registration Form