Rescue of the Month

This award aims to recognise excellence in lifesaving and service delivery, measured against industry best practice and operating procedures.

Lifesavers and Lifeguards provide a valuable service on beaches and in communities throughout NSW. Many exceptional rescues and first aids are preformed over and above normal duties showcasing excellence in lifesaving skills and procedures that often go unrecognised. Monthly winners become finalists for the SLSNSW Rescue of the Year which is awarded as part of the annual Awards of Excellence event.

The Rescue of the Month award is a separate SLSNSW program to the SLSA Meritorious Awards. Members are encouraged to nominate to both programs separately.


Clubs, Branches and Lifeguard Supervisors are encouraged to nominate teams or individuals involved in any outstanding rescues conducted during or outside of patrol hours, year round, on or off the beach.

Nominations can be completed by reading through and filling out the nomination form.

2017 Key Dates

Period Nomination
Period End
ROM close
July/August 31 August 8 September 15 September 22 September
September 30 September 6 October 13 October 20 October
October 31 October 3 November 10 November 17 November
November 30 November 8 December 15 December 22 December
December 31 December 5 January 12 January 19 January

Past Recipients

May/June 2017

Glenn Matthews, Shane Wicks, Rhys Dawson, Tom Daly and Gregg Delahunty
Surf Rescue 50
May-June 2017 Official Citation

April 2017

Tony Worton, Jacob Worton, Phil Traves, Adam Toogood, Jay Toogood and Michelle Garvan
Camden Haven SLSC
April 2017 Official Citation

March 2017

Matthew Goddard
Broulee Surfers SLSC
March 2017 Official Citation

February 2017

Mark Doherty
Cooks Hill SLSC
February 2017 Official Citation

January 2017

Kevin Ryan, Kieran McKay, Lachlan Kimberley, Paul Hanrahan, Lachlan Sweeny, Chloe Bourke, Sian Bourke, Eliza Gottaas-Healey, Timothy Tapia, Brittany Tapia, Helen Tapia and Michael Tapia
North Wollongong SLSC
January 2017 Official Citation

December 2016

Doug Hockey, Kaye Norris, Jayson Norris, Russell Trott and Nic Digenni
Windang SLSC
December 2016 Official Citation

November 2016

Nicholas Lowe and Lochleigh Thomson
Helensburgh-Stanwell Park SLSC
November 2016 Official Citation

October 2016

Malcolm Kelly
Cooks Hill SLSC
October 2016 Official Citation

September 2016

Jenni Darwin and Graeme Carroll
Umina SLSC
September 2016 Official Citation

July/August 2016

No nominations received

May/June 2016

Jason O’Donnell, Scott Balfour, Cathryn O’Donnell, Barry Clow, David Brunsdon and Peter Dyba
Macksville-Scotts Head SLSC
May/June 2016 Official Citation

April 2016

Simon King, Karen Sheppard, Lucy Schott, Gary Pendergast, Danielle Poirier, Paul Parks, John Rohl, Lisa Croudace, Patrick Kerr, Matthew Brown, Kathryn Percy, Alex Holmwood, Emma Mellow-Sandford, India Fay, Adam Brass, David Tinworth and Jake Hilton
North Bondi SLSC
April 2016 Official Citation

March 2016

Lachlan O'Reilly, Sean O'Reilly, Warren Pavey, Jack Pavey and Mark Beavis
Coffs Harbour SLSC
March 2016 Official Citation

February 2016

Yao Xen Tan, Michele Kaye and Nigel Kassulke
North Steyne SLSC and Manly LSC
February 2016 Official Citation

January 2016

Matt Penn, Kristy McQueen, Mackenzie Penn, Sharon Brierty, Finn McDonald, Riley Bissett, James Cameron, Matthew Williams, Sharnee Warne, Jemma Duerden, Fletcher Armstrong, Mick McQueen, Bec Cameron, Wal Norman, Rob Davis, Andrew Duerden and Brett Beswick
Avoca Beach SLSC
January 2016 Official Citation