2014 JLOTY & YOM Participants Announced

Participants who will represent their clubs and branches at the 2014 Junior Lifesaver of the Year (JLOTY) and Youth Opportunity Makers Workshop (YOM) have now been selected.

Both programs have been developed to support Surf Life Saving's young members and provide them with the opportunity to exchange ideas, participate in activities designed to broaden their understanding of the organisation and present to them the opportunities that are available within surf lifesaving.

The Junior Lifesaver of the Year (JLOTY) award is aimed at U14 members and is a way for clubs and branches to recognise their junior members' achievements in surf lifesaving and the contributions they make within the movement and in their communities.

The SLSNSW JLOTY development program brings together the Branch winners. During the program finalists are interviewed by a judging panel of experienced volunteer surf lifesavers who assess each individuals on their merit to be named the SLSNSW Junior Lifesaver of the Year.

The Youth Opportunity Makers Workshop is aimed at 15 -17 year olds. This workshop provides an opportunity for participants to build on their existing skill sets, engage in the creation and development of goal setting, as well as being able to work as part of a team. A key focus is on assisting participants to improve their confidence and self esteem, while also positively recognising members.

Both JLOTY and YOM participants will engage in a combination of fun and learning through experience. Participants will be involved in physical challenges, information sharing in presentations and discussions, activities and scenario’s which require leadership, teamwork and communication.

Congratulations to all participants!

Junior Lifesaver of the Year

Sarah Wilson - Far North Coast
Cooper Murphy - Far North Coast
Lani Goodman - North Coast
Harrison Jacobs - North Coast
Stephanie Clark - Mid North Coast
Lachlan Myers - Mid North Coast
Sarah Ward - Lower North Coast
Toby Jones - Lower North Coast
Jack Curran - Hunter
Isabella Ferencz - Hunter
Jasmine Darwin - Central Coast
Jackson Heinze - Central Coast
Jack Watt - Sydney Northern Beaches
Andrea Malm - Sydney Northern Beaches
Brianna Tier - Sydney
Shea Garcia - Sydney
Hamilton Reilly - Illawarra
Tegan Robertson - Illawarra
Annika Janos - South Coast
Izak Parkes - South Coast
Scott Senior - Far South Coast
Sally Kennedy - Far South Coast

Youth Opportunity Makers

Alex Barnes - Byron Bay
Jack Graham-Jones - Ballina Lighthouse & Lismore
Jake Landrigan - Evans Head-Casino
Luke Blunn - Evans Head-Casino
Tom Ellis - Evans Head-Casino
Naomi Howe - Urunga
Jade Horton - Tacking Point
Harrison Towle - Port Macquarie
Imogen Deutscher - Camden Haven
Isaac Robinson - Kempsey-Crescent Head
Tamara Morgan - Forster
Ruby Jones - Forster
Andrew Lange - Fingal Beach
Zachary Donnelly - Nobbys Beach
Darcie van Huisstede - Cooks Hill
Jessica Thomas - Umina
Annalise Jones - Terrigal
Katie Wallace - Toowoon Bay
Lachlan Buckton - Soldiers Beach
Jobe Graham - Macmasters Beach
Devlin Walsh - Queenscliff
Adam Hockley - Dee Why
Caitriona O`Leary - North Bondi
Jessica Halbert - Coogee
Henry Ongerth - Sandon Point
Sarah Mudge - Mollymook
Mitchell Lawrence - Nowra-Culburra
Ashlea Bishop - Batemans Bay
Hallam Brichacek - Tathra

Tue 18 Feb 2014