2015 Awards of Excellence Finalists Announced

Surf Life Saving NSW is getting ready to celebrate the commitment and heroic actions of the season’s most outstanding volunteers at the 2015 Surf Life Saving NSW Awards of Excellence, proudly presented by Stramit Building Products.

Every year Surf Life Saving members are officially recognised for their hard work and dedication to Surf Life Saving in NSW. The Awards of Excellence will be held at The Four Seasons Sydney on Saturday 29 August. Layne Beachley is once again the Master of Ceremonies for the night, making it an event not to be missed.

Some of the night's top awards include Surf Lifesaver of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Branch and Club of the Year.

Tickets to the event are selling fast, visit the event page to purchase your ticket.

Surf Lifesaver of the Year

  • Nicholas Pierce, Evans-Head Casino SLSC
  • Marie-Louise O’Neill, Wauchope-Bonny Hills SLSC
  • Rodney Croker, Crowdy Head SLSC
  • Michael Baldock, Swansea Belmont SLSC
  • James Buckton, Soldiers Beach SLSC
  • Adam Kent, Long Reef SLSC
  • Rosemarie Taliano, North Bondi SLSC
  • Scott Gordon, Bulli SLSC
  • Shaun Pike, Moruya SLSC

Volunteer of the Year

  • Charles Buchanan, Cudgen Headland SLSC
  • Michelle Kirkwood, Wauchope-Bonny Hills SLSC
  • Beth Lee, Forster SLSC
  • Sharon Greenland, Redhead SLSC
  • Glenn Clarke, The Entrance SLSC
  • Melinda Pelly, Manly SLSC
  • Craig Howie, Coogee SLSC
  • Madeline Bow, Woonona SLSC
  • Michael Hallahan, Moruya SLSC

Club of the Year

  • Cudgen Headland SLSC
  • Wauchope-Bonny Hills SLSC
  • Tea Gardens-Hawks Nest SLSC
  • MacMasters Beach SLSC
  • Woonona SLSC

Trainer of the Year

  • Chris Van Der Waal, Cudgen Headland SLSC
  • Paul Rayner, Port Macquarie SLSC
  • Toni Jones, Terrigal SLSC
  • Matthew Molinia, Dee Why SLSC
  • Beck Mister, Coogee SLSC
  • Charles Hegyi, Towradgi SLSC
  • Michael Lambert, Broulee Surfers SLSC

Assessor of the Year

  • Darcy Morrow, Ballina Lighthouse & Lismore SLSC
  • Tony Wright, Port Macquarie SLSC
  • Debbie Booth, Tea Gardens-Hawks Nest SLSC
  • Gary Hyland , Soldiers Beach SLSC
  • Ray Merton, North Curl Curl SLSC
  • Craig Howie, Coogee SLSC
  • Jayson Norris, Windang SLSC

Surf Sports Official of the Year

  • Gavin Marshall, Cudgen Headland SLSC
  • Ray McDonagh, South West Rocks SLSC
  • Kylie Moore, Crowdy Head SLSC
  • Stephen Marley, Catherine Hill Bay SLSC
  • Ken Sellers, The Entrance SLSC
  • Louis Tassone, North Curl Curl SLSC
  • Tony Hughes, North Cronulla SLSC
  • Dave Greene, Bulli SLSC
  • Sue Hunt, Batemans Bay SLSC

Surf Sports Coach of the Year

  • Gary Timperley, Byron Bay SLSC
  • Rick Rolff, Port Macquarie SLSC
  • Wayne Whiteman, Cooks Hills SLSC
  • Damien Benson, Avoca SLSC
  • Trent Herring, Newport SLSC
  • Dean McMahon, Wanda SLSC
  • Daniel Robberds, Helensburgh-Stanwell Park SLSC
  • Neil Innes, Batemans Bay SLSC

Surf Sports Athlete of the Year

  • Ela Heiniger, Byron Bay SLSC
  • Stewart McLachlan, Redhead SLSC
  • Timothy Schofield, Terrigal SLSC
  • Georgia Miller, Newport SLSC
  • Andrew Bowden, Bronte SLSC
  • Siobhan Dibley, Helensburgh-Stanwell Park SLSC

Masters Athlete of the Year

  • Helen Murray, Byron Bay SLSC
  • Carolyn Turnham, Port Macquarie SLSC
  • Paul Lemmon, Terrigal SLSC
  • Michael Kirkby, Freshwater SLSC
  • Scott Thomson, North Bondi SLSC
  • Jeff Banks, Fairy Meadow SLSC
  • Peter McKay, Broulee Surfers SLSC

Young Athlete of the Year (U19)

  • Luke Chaffer, Cudgen Headland SLSC
  • Ryan Carroll, Tacking Point SLSC
  • Jemma Smith, Umina SLSC
  • Charlie Brooks, Newport SLSC
  • Lizzie Welborn, North Bondi SLSC
  • Keeleigh Mccauley, Helensburgh-Stanwell Park SLSC
  • Matthew Sperring, Warilla-Barrack Point SLSC
  • Samantha Law, Broulee Surfers SLSC

Team of the Year

  • Byron Bay U17 Girls
  • SLSMNC Member Services
  • Redhead SLSC 6 Male Taplin
  • Avoca Beach U19 Surf Boat
  • Newport Male Taplin teams (Opens, U19 and U17)
  • Bronte Rescue Tube Rescue
  • Bulli SLSC Open Male Surf Boat
  • Batemans Bay SLSC Thunderbirdz Surf Boat

Initiative of the Year

  • Hunter Branch Sustainability Charts
  • Adopt-a-Nipper - Warren Evrard and Glenn Clarke
  • 100 Boats for 100 years - Bryn & Janice Russel and Wayne & Lisa Settree
  • North Bondi SLSC ‘Swapsea 2.0 and Skills maintenance’ Application
  • April Hockey, Windang SLSC

Facilitator of the Year

  • Rod Balkin, Ballina Lighthouse & Lismore SLSC
  • Kim Rayner, Port Macquarie SLSC
  • Henry Scruton, Nobbys SLSC
  • Robert Powell, Umina SLSC
  • Clare Hagon, North Curl Curl SLSC
  • James Brighton, North Wollongong SLSC

Administrator of the Year

  • Teena Redman, Evans Head-Casino SLSC
  • Joanne Hawkins, Tacking Point SLSC
  • Maxine Cook, Tea Gardens-Hawks Nest SLSC
  • Robert McLeod, Umina SLSC
  • Kelly Windsham, Manly SLSC
  • Sean Taylor, Bulli SLSC
  • Wendy Law, Broulee Surfers SLSC

Branch of the Year

  • Hunter
  • Central Coast
  • Sydney Northern Beaches
  • Sydney
  • Illawarra

Young Lifesaver of the Year (U19)

  • Luke Blunn, Evans Head-Casino SLSC
  • Lachlan Hawkins, Tacking Point SLSC
  • Ruby Jones, Forster SLSC
  • Darcie Van Huisstede, Cooks Hill SLSC
  • Gabby Tinson, Ocean Beach SLSC
  • Adam Hockley, Dee Why SLSC
  • Julien Vincent, Coogee SLSC
  • Joshua Gordon, Bulli SLSC
  • Samantha Law, Broulee Surfers SLSC

Community Education Program (SLSA)

  • Cancer Council Sun Sound Program, Port Macquarie SLSC
  • Forster SLSC Surf Awareness School
  • New Wave Program, Hunter
  • Community Education Program, Central Coast Branch
  • Surf Life Saving School, Sydney Northern Beaches Branch
  • Can-Too Swim Training, Elouera SLSC
  • Bellambi SLSC

Rescue of the Year

  • May-June 2015, Warriewood and Avalon Beach SLSC
  • April 2015, Evans Head-Casino SLSC
  • March 2015, North Bondi SLSC
  • February 2015, North Narrabeen SLSC
  • January 2015, Towradgi SLSC
  • December 2014, Cronulla SLSC
  • November 2014, Redhead SLSC
  • October 2014, Macksville-Scotts Head SLSC
  • September 2014, Sandon Point SLSC
  • July-August 2014, South Maroubra SLSC

Fri 17 Jul 2015