Hot Action In Ocean Thunder Series

Sydney’s Dee Why Beach turned it on spectacularly for the second round of the Beko Home Appliances Ocean Thunder Surfboat Series with last Saturday’s race providing challenging conditions for the cream of Australia’s boaties.

At the halfway point of the competition, it has been a good start to the summer for Queensland’s Currumbin Vikings who lead both the men’s series on 18 points and the women’s series with 17 points.

News South Wales teams are closing in the with the two Mona Vale teams in the men currently sitting in second and third place respectively, and North Cronulla and Austinmer in the women’s putting pressure on the leaders.

The Leaders in the Dial Before You Dig Interstate Challenge who complete for the Ross Jorgenson Trophy are Queensland on 177 Points, followed by New South Wales on 137 and Victoria on 87 points.

Although they have some time off over the festive season, all crews will be hard at work training as preparations ramp up for Round 3 to be held at Dee Why on January 9.

Each round of the competition will contain a knockout format with the competitors having to race a gruelling 13 times in a day to record a win – the overall winner will be crowned following the final event in February.

The 2015/16 Ocean Thunder Series is sponsored by Beko Home Appliance Group. For further information about and full results please visit Ocean Thunder Series Website

Top 10 Men After Round 2:

Position Partner Club Sweep Total

360 Financial Currumbin Lyle Clark 18 Rocks Brewing Mona Vale Ryan Halangahu 14
Dial Before You Dig Mona Vale Matt Collins 14
A Curtains & Blinds Currumbin Matt Wildman 13
Dial Before You Dig Austinmer Jack Patison 12
Smith & Son renovations & extensions Palm Beach Peter Spence 10
Surfair Beach Hotel Maroochydore Michael Brooks 9
ASF Currumbin Matt Hickey 9
Reilly & Sons Food Services Dee Why Shaun Stacey 8
Coogee SLSC Coogee SLSC Matt Leary 8

Top 10 Women After Round 2:

Position Partner Club Sweep Total APB Group Hunters Currumbin Matt Wildman 17
Back to Balance North Cronulla Mark Lea 14
Jacoars Austinmer Jack Patison 12
Manly Wharf Hotel Manly Nathan Perry 11 Palm Beach Peter Spence 11
TJS Services Currumbin Matt Hickey 10
Blackmores Bilgola Don McManus 10
beko Home Appliances South Curl Curl Rob Lowery 10
beko home appliances Northcliffe Damien Claypham 10
The Beach Club, Collaroy - XXXX Gold Collaroy Mark Anderson 9

Photograph- The Nexba Manly Women take to the waves during Round 2 of the 2015/16 Ocean Thunder Series at Sydney's Dee Why Beach on Saturday 12 December 2015

Fri 18 Dec 2015