JLOTY Finalists Announced

Surf Life Saving NSW would like to congratulate the following young lifesavers who were successful in being named branch winners in the prestigious Junior Lifesaver of the Year awards for 2016.

The young clubbies will travel to Sydney in April to attend a development camp and will have the opportunity to be interviewed by a panel of experienced lifesavers with a male and female Junior Lifesaver of the Year announced shortly after.

To make it this far into the process, these young club members must have demonstrated strong leadership potential and a commitment to Surf Life Saving and their community.

For many of these teenagers, April’s Development Program will be their first experience of networking with likeminded peers, and is a fantastic way to cap off their involvement in Nippers.

“I would like to congratulate all of the Branch Winners for their success so far in the Junior Lifesaver of the Year award,” SLSNSW Membership Services Manager Kate Higginbotham said.

“While not everyone can be named Junior Lifesaver of the Year, we hope that the program will highlight to these youngsters the opportunities available within Surf Lifesaving and encourage them to develop their own skills and interests in the seasons ahead.”

2016 Junior Lifesaver of the Year Finalists

Jorja Williams - Helensburgh - Stanwell Park SLSC (Illawarra)
Keehan Reilly- Helensburgh - Stanwell Park SLSC (Illawarra)
Grace Kuhnell - Wauchope Bonny Hills SLSC (Mid North Coast)
Isaac Plunkett - Port Macquarie SLSC (Mid North Coast)
Annabelle Smith - Broulee Surfers SLSC (Far South Coast)
Jake Shaw - Pambula SLSC (Far South Coast)
Chloe Walker - Coogee SLSC (Sydney)
Michael De Francesco – North Cronulla SLSC (Sydney)
Poppy Smyth – Coffs Harbour SLSC (North Coast)
Patrick de Carle – Sawtell SLSC (North Coast)
Gracie Kiely – Freshwater SLSC (Sydney Northern Beaches)
Zizo Ayoub – Dee Why SLSC (Sydney Northern Beaches)
Annelise Romer – Forster SLSC (Lower North Coast)
Jordan Fowler – Forster SLSC (Lower North Coast)
Jade Williams – Cooks Hill SLSC (Hunter)
Luke Walmsley – Caves Beach SLSC (Hunter)
Cerys Cousins – MacMasters Beach SLSC (Central Coast)
Dylan Barrett – Ocean Beach SLSC (Central Coast)
Jessica O’Donnell – Nowra-Culburra SLSC (South Coast)
Byron Vinkovic – Shellharbour SLSC (South Coast)
Hayley Smith – Cudgen Headland SLSC (Far North Coast)
Zane Patience - Cabarita Beach SLSC (Far North Coast)

Photograph - Junior Lifesavers of the Year Finalists from 2015 are pictured while at the development camp.

Wed 24 Feb 2016