Junior Lifesaver & Youth Program Participants Announced

Participants for the 2013 Junior Lifesaver of the Year (JLOTY) and Youth Opportunity Makers Workshop (YOM) have now been selected.

Both programs have been developed to support Surf Life Saving's young members and provide them with the opportunity to exchange ideas, participate in activities that are designed to broaden their understanding of the organisation and show them the opportunities that are available.

The Junior Lifesaver of the Year (JLOTY) award is aimed at members under the age of 14 while the Youth Opportunity Makers Workshop is aimed at 15-17 year olds.

The workshops provide an environment where the participants can build on their existing skill sets, engage in the creation and development of goal setting, as well as being able to work as part of a team. A key focus is for the participants to improve their confidence and self esteem while positively recognising members.

JLOTY is a rewarding way for clubs and branches to recognise their junior members' achievements in surf lifesaving and the contributions they have made to surf lifesaving at all levels and within the community.

One male and one female are selected from each Branch and then progress onto the SLSNSW JLOTY development camp. During the camp, finalists are interviewed by a judging panel of experienced volunteer surf lifesavers assessing individuals on their merit to be named the Junior Lifesaver of the Year.

The focus of this camp is a combination of fun and learning through experience. Participants will be involved in physical challenges, information sharing in presentations and discussions, activities and scenario’s which require leadership, teamwork and communication.

Congratulations to the following participants:

Junior Lifesaver of the Year

India Brown - Lennox Head-Alstonville
Lewis Warne - Cudgen Headland
James Murray - Sawtell
Anna Fry - Sawtell
Jade Horton - Tacking Point
Isaac Robinson - South West Rocks
Tim Denley - Forster
Ruby Jones - Forster
Andrew Lange - Fingal Bay
Darcie Van Huisstede - Cooks Hill
Beau Jeffries - Avoca Beach
Gabi Taranto - MacMasters Beach
Courtney Halford - Long Reef
Angus Gilbert - Manly
Chelsi Williams - Elouera
Austin Wem - South Maroubra
Jack Williams - Helensburgh-Stanwell Park
Chloe Bell - Helensburgh-Stanwell Park
Amy Abbey - Nowra Culburra
Nathan Troiani - Shellharbour
Rahni Dixon - Tathra
Hallam Brichacek - Tathra

Youth Opportunity Makers

Harrison Murphy - Lennox Head-Alstonville
Riley Chaffer - Cudgen Headland
Jaime Sommerville - Cabarita Beach
Kisane Irwin - Byron Bay
Georgina Doyle - Cabarita Beach
Sarah Orman - Nambucca Heads
Elani White - Woolgoolga
Patrick Mullan - Woolgoolga
Brianna-Lee Brown - Woolgoolga
Connah Wilson - Wauchope Bonny Hills
Shane Gatley - Wauchope Bonny Hills
Jess Towle - Port Macquarie
Samantha Hallett - Caves Beach
Brittany Aitken - Dixon Park
Caddie Morrow - Fingal Bay
Luke McShane - Stockton
Rachel Field - North Entrance
Amber Henderson - The Lakes
Duncan Holmes - The Lakes
Jordan Smith - Ocean Beach
Steven Mastrangelo - North Steyne
Cody Chockman - Newport
Lauren Peterson - Avalon Beach
Conor Tarlington - Long Reef
Julien Vincent - Coogee
Cameron Callaghan - Coogee
Cordelia Ongerth - Sandon Point
Gabrielle Bow - Woonona
Eliza Gottaas-Healey - North Wollongong
Lang Brown - Nowra Culburra
Kelly Sinclair - Moruya
Crystal Lewis - Batemans Bay
Samuel Peters - Batemans Bay

Thu 21 Mar 2013