Kiama Downs Crowned Rubber Ducky Champions

Kiama Downs have put an exclamation mark on their 2015 Inflatable Rescue Boat (IRB) Winter Premiership campaign by claiming the overall title for a second straight year.

The defending champions (30 points) held off the fast-finishing Catherine Hill Bay (27) and Caves Beach (24) to be crowned overall winners on their home beach last weekend.

IRB racing is fast, furious, and designed to simulate real life rescue situations involving individual ‘patients’ and mass rescues.

As well as the prestige of being crowned overall winners, Kiama Downs also earned an IRB motor for their efforts. A second IRB motor was also presented for the “Most Deserving Club” as a means of encouraging the smaller teams, and those new to the competition.

This season, the motor was awarded to Wamberal SLSC from the Central Coast. Both motors were courtesy of Tohatsu Australia.

It has been a challenging 2015 for the IRB Premiership Series with races having to be postponed and in some instances moved to accommodate the difficult conditions. The competitors however have handled all the challenges thrown at them with aplomb.

“Thanks to all competitors, officials and the four hosting clubs for a fantastic 2015 IRB Premiership Series. It has been a difficult and at times challenging season for everyone involved although they have conducted themselves with great professionalism,” Surf Life Saving NSW Surf Sports Manager Shane Knight said.

“Congratulations must go to Kiama Downs for their success in being crowned overall winners, and it is exciting to think that the season isn’t winding down with there still being a number of opportunities for the athletes to compete.”

“The NSW Interstate IRB team will be announced shortly, while the State and Australian Championships are looming on the horizon,” he concluded.

2015 IRB Premiership Series Leader Board – Top 10:

Kiama Downs (30)
Catherine Hill Bay (27)
Caves Beach (24)
North Cronulla (21)
Thirroul (15)
Woonona (14)
Queenscliff (11)
South Maroubra (7)
Avalon Beach (7)
Forster (5)

The 2015 NSW IRB State Championships will be held from 26-28 June at Mollymook Beach.

Photograph: The team from Kiama Downs celebrates their success following Round 4 of the 2015 IRB Premiership Series.

Tue 16 Jun 2015