Kiama Downs SLSC Wins Back-to-Back IRB Premiership Series

Kiama Downs SLSC has clinched victory in the 2013 NSW IRB Premiership Series at the back up venue of Palm Beach (Sydney’s Northern Beaches) over the weekend.

Kiama Downs had to overcome wet, wild and windy conditions as well as a spirited defence from Caves Beach SLSC and Catherine Hill Bay SLSC who finished second and third respectively.

The weekend was certainly a challenging one for competitors and officials alike with the aforementioned weather creating un-contestable conditions at Newport Beach and forcing the competition to relocate to Palm Beach.

Because of the delay, Round 4 was cancelled and the championship decided after the completion of Round 3.

SLSNSW Surf Sports Manager, Dan Pearce, says despite the hurdles with the weather, it was business as usual once the teams hit the water.

“The decision to move was a little disappointing because Newport SLSC were looking forward to showcasing the event at their own beach however, the right decision was made and thanks must go to Newport SLSC, Pittwater Council, Palm Beach SLSC and the local residents of Palm Beach for their flexibility and support.

Kiama Downs were deserved winners after a solid season. They raced very well all season and held off late charges from State Champions Caves Beach SLSC and Catherine Hill Bay SLSC who have improved dramatically from their 5th place overall in 2012.”

Kiama Downs SLSC Team Manager, Steven Guy, says the team were absolutely thrilled to win the Premiership again.

“The team are absolutely stoked with the win. Although we won all three rounds of the series, this season has again seen an increase in the spread of results across clubs, particularly at the State Titles and Round 3 of the Premiership. There was sometimes only one point in between 1st and 2nd place in the overall winner for each round,” said Steve.

A strong season for Kiama has resulted in five of their crew members selected in the 2013 NSW IRB team competing at the Interstate Championships in Darwin on the 18th of July.

North Cronulla SLSC have also got five members in the NSW team with South Maroubra SLSC providing four. Catherine Hill Bay SLSC, Caves Beach SLSC and Windang SLSC earned the remaining four spots in the state team.

To view the 2013 Premiership Series final standings please click here.

Mon 24 Jun 2013