Kiama Takes Lead In IRB Premiership At Forster

Inflatable Rescue Boat (IRB) crews from throughout NSW lined up for Round’s 1 and 2 of the Surf Life Saving NSW IRB Premiership at Forster on the Lower North Coast on the 18-19 May.

With a virtually flat ocean and beautiful sunshine, conditions were perfect for IRB racing and officials took advantage completing Round 2 as well as the remaining events from Mollymook two weeks earlier.

It was defending champions Kiama Downs SLSC who continued their dominance winning a massive 15 divisions over both rounds and taking an overall lead in the standings.

Caves Beach SLSC was also very strong winning seven divisions and moving into overall second position in the state.

But perhaps the biggest story over the weekend was the rise of Catherine Hill Bay crews who won seven divisions and now sit third in the overall standings.

Surf Life Saving NSW Surf Sports Manager, Daniel Pearce said that the standard of racing this weekend was very high.

“The quality and speed of racing continues to grow each year with some extremely tight finishes across the weekend. Although the surf was virtually flat all weekend at Forster it wasn’t just boat speed that decided the final placings but the level of technical ability in the turns and pick-ups that sorted the winners on the day”, said Dan Pearce.

The NSW Premierhip now has a new crew with Wauchope Bonny Hills SLSC competing for the first time in Forster.

Forster SLSC with the support of Great Lakes Tourism hosted over 240 athletes for Round’s 1 and 2 with Round’s 3 and 4 of the NSW IRB Premiership set to be held on 22-23 May in Newport Beach on Sydney’s Northern Beaches.

NSW IRB Standings After Round 2:

1.) Kiama Downs SLSC- 239
2.) Caves Beach SLSC- 215
3.) Catherine Hill Bay SLSC- 123
4.) North Cronulla SLSC- 112
5.) Queenscliff SLSC- 84
6.) Terrigal SLSC- 82
7.) South Maroubra SLSC- 73
8.) Forster SLSC- 71
9.) Soldiers Beach SLSC- 25
10.) Woonona SLSC- 22
11.) North Avoca SLSC- 19
11.) Shellharbour SLSC-19
13.) Avalon Beach SLSC- 16
14.) Thirroul SLSC- 13
15.) Long Reef SLSC Inc- 9
16.) North Narrabeen SLSC Inc- 3
17.) Coogee SLSC (NSW)- 1
18.)North Steyne SLSC Inc- 0
18.)Merewether SLSC- 0
18.)Wauchope Bonny Hills SLSC- 0
18.) Batemans Bay SLSC- 0

For more info go the IRB Premiership Event page.

Fri 24 May 2013