NSW Clubbies Celebrate Awards Of Excellence

Surf lifesavers from NSW descended on the Four Seasons Sydney tonight to celebrate the very best in lifesaving at the 2014 Awards of Excellence proudly supported by Stramit Building Products.

More than 280 of Surf Life Saving’s most outstanding lifesavers, athletes, coaches and administrators were on hand to recognise the enormous contribution of volunteers and clubs from across NSW for the 2014 awards.

Seven time surfing world champion, Layne Beachley, who hosted on the night praised the spirit of lifesavers.

"What I find inspiring about surf lifesaving is everybody involved with the organisation is proud and parochial about being a part of it.

"Ultimately surf life saving wouldn't be what it is today without that passion because at the end of the day lifesavers are all volunteering their time and without that gesture Australia's beaches would not be as safe as they are today," said Layne Beachley.

Crowdy Head lifesaver, Allan Davis, was announced as the Lifesaver of the Year for the 2013/14 season.

Allan, who has been a lifesaver with the club for 26 years had a simple message of how he has stayed so passionate over the years.

"Surf lifesaving gives me a chance to really get my hands dirty and help make a difference and that makes it easy to stay motivated to be a volunteer.

"We're all one big happy family at surf and I could never be named the lifesaver of the year without the support of my wife and the Crowdy Head Surf Life Saving Club," said Mr Davis.

Ballina Lighthouse & Lismore SLSC was named the Club of the Year while the Central Coast was announced as the Branch of the Year.

Former NSW lifesaver of the year, Andrew Cross (South Narrabeen), was named the NSW Volunteer of the Year while Newport's Max Brooks was named the NSW Athlete of the Year.

For a full list of all the winners please visit the 2014 Awards of Excellence event page.

Sat 16 Aug 2014