NSW Interstate Team Announced

Congratulations to the 24 NSW athletes who have been selected for the 2016 Interstate Championships to be held at Torquay, Victoria on Friday 8 January.

Redhead's Daniel Collins' performance at the 2015 Interbranch sealed his maiden selection for the State Team and was delighted to be chosen as the Male Youth Captain.

"I'm stoked because I've never captained a team before so that's going to be exciting. I'm really looking forward to the opportunity to represent my state and do the best that we can and give it to the Queenslanders," the Youth Team Captain said.

Mitchell Trim from Newport was another athlete to be picked for the first time and the powerful ski paddler couldn't believe it when the team was announced at the 2015 Interbranch presentation.

"I've never ever been in the Interstate Team before so it's something I can't wait for being only less than a month away," Mitchell Trim said.

"I put my selection down to consistency, hard work and a bit of luck. I've been knocking on the door for a couple of years so it's good to finally get a shot."

The 2016 NSW Interstate Team

Open Female:

Captain - Hannah Minogue (Newport)
Elly Graf (Elouera)
Maddison Prior (Warilla-Barrack Point)
Lizzie Welborn (North Bondi)
Taylar Puskaric (Manly)
Rachelle King (Terrigal)

Open Male:

Captain - Timothy Schofield (Terrigal)
Jay Furniss (Manly)
Mitchell Trim (Newport)
Max Brooks (Newport)
Dane Farrell (Newport)
Blake Drysdale (Helensburgh-Stanwell Park)

Youth Female:

Captain - Ela Heiniger (Byron Bay)
Jemma Smith (Umina)
Lily Costello (Redhead)
Naomi Scott (Manly)
Rachel Wood (Umina)
Ngaire Hadfield (Cronulla)

Youth Male:

Captain - Daniel Collins (Redhead)
Bradley Woodward (Shelly Beach)
Charlie Brooks (Newport)
Isaac Smith (Newport)
Jy Timperley (Byron Bay)
Matthew Day (North Cronulla)

Sun 13 Dec 2015