NSW Surf Athletes off to Aussies

The Australian Surf Life Saving Championships 2014, The Aussies, will kick off in Scarborough next week with seven action-packed days between March 31 and April 6, featuring 5000 surf lifesaving competitors and the who’s who of surf sports.

Many NSW competitors and clubs are making their way west as the culmination of the surf sports season looms large.

NSW will field the most number of clubs travelling to this year’s Aussies with 62 including 59 of those clubs that will also contest the Masters. A total of 1,377 open competitors and 424 Masters will make the trek across the Nullabor. The NSW clubs will be led by new State Champions, Newport. The Maroon and Golds will be led by champion ironman Kendrick Louis, along with Max Brooks, Jake Lynch, Luke Morrison and Mitchell Trim. Manly, with Olympian Naomi Flood and rising star Georgia Miller will be a force in the women’s events after 18-year-old Miller won 10 gold medals at the NSW State Championships.

Strong performances are expected from many NSW athletes after successes at the recent State Championships. Ones to watch include:

North Coast
Byron Bay – Ela Heiniger, Joanna Charles, Josh Brown
Sawtell – Lauren Dam
Coffs Harbour – Ryan Beckett
Tacking Point – Ryan Carroll

Central Coast & Hunter
Avoca – Riley Fitzsimmons, Lachlan Tame, Jake O’Brien
Terrigal – Paul Lemmon, Rachelle King, Jessica Collins
Redhead – Peter Scott, Stewart McLachlan, Daniel Collins
Catherine Hill Bay – Lily Costello, Jye Lehman, Karly Falzon
Umina –Jemma Smith
Wamberal – Cade Mapu
Cooks Hill – Hamish Lorang

Manly - Georgia Miller, Naomi Flood, Nathan Smith, Mieke Kassulke and Naomi Scott
Nth Bondi – Jess Suriano
Coogee – Jessica Thornton, Harrison William
Elouera – Tom O’Keefe, Dane Farrell
Wanda – Jay Furniss, Ali Najem
Collaroy – Katie Williams, Dean Scarff, Jake de Kort, Megan Lutze
Newport – Kendrick Louis, Max Brooks, Tom Atkinson, Jake Lynch, Kristie Edwards
Mona Vale – Open Mens and Reserve Grade Surfboat crews
Queenscliff – Callum Lowe-Griffiths, Isaac Smith
Nth Cronulla – Alexandra Budd

Illawarra & South
Bulli - Hannah Minogue and the Bulli mens surfboat crews.
Helensburgh Stanwell Park – Laura Shorter, Laura Humphries, Blake Drysdale
Warilla Barrack Point – Ben Carberry
Broulee – Under 19 Surfboat crew

NSW Snapshot

Total number of competitors: 1377
Open Clubs: 62
Total number of Masters competitors: 424
Masters clubs: 59

For more information, updates and results, go to the Aussies website

Fri 28 Mar 2014