Pressure On IRB Athletes To Impress

This weekend's round of the NSW IRB Premiership will be the last chance for surf lifesavers to cement their position in the 2017 NSW IRB Interstate and Development Teams. are chosen to compete at Cudgen Headland SLSC on 14 July.

Due to the lack of racing in this year's Premiership Series, the selections will be made after Round 3 at Ocean Beach SLSC where they'll represent NSW at the Interstate Championships at Cudgen Headland SLSC on Friday 14 July.

As expected, current NSW IRB Championship and Premiership title holders Kiama Downs SLSC have almost a third of the selected 30 athletes.

The dominance of our northern rivals over several years will be the motivator to bring the trophy back to the shores of NSW.

The following athletes have been put shortlisted as potential members of NSW’s attack on the 2017 Interstate title.

2017 NSW IRB Interstate Squad:

  • Rhianna Kevill (Catherine Hill Bay SLSC)
  • Gabby Grieves (Caves Beach SLSC)
  • Liam Kleyn (Caves Beach SLSC)
  • Mitch Lobson (Caves Beach SLSC)
  • Oliver Kleyn (Caves Beach SLSC)
  • Sam Hallet (Caves Beach SLSC)
  • Vivienne Ricketts (Caves Beach SLSC)
  • Blair Joynson (Kiama Downs SLSC)
  • Brad Honey (Kiama Downs SLSC)
  • Chloe Bracken (Kiama Downs SLSC)
  • Josh Ehlbeck (Kiama Downs SLSC)
  • Kaitlin Isabella (Kiama Downs SLSC)
  • Kathy Foster (Kiama Downs SLSC)
  • Kirsty Honey (Kiama Downs SLSC)
  • Matt Lewis (Kiama Downs SLSC)
  • Nadia Guy (Kiama Downs SLSC)
  • Elissa Hughes (North Cronulla SLSC)
  • Felicity Hasset (North Cronulla SLSC)
  • Kate Janssen (North Cronulla SLSC)
  • Lillian Hasset (North Cronulla SLSC)
  • Lucy Green (North Cronulla SLSC)
  • Andrew Selosse (Queenscliff SLSC)
  • Harry Yandle (Queenscliff SLSC)
  • Alix Smith (Terrigal SLSC)
  • Bronte Bagala (Terrigal SLSC)
  • Zoe Ronalds (Terrigal SLSC)
  • Ben Clarke (Woonoona SLSC)
  • Jake Westlake (Woonoona SLSC)
  • Nathan Bow (Woonoona SLSC)
  • Patrick Chapman (Woonoona SLSC)

Photo: NSW Interstate team racing at the 2016 Interstate Championships at Mollymook SLSC.

Tue 30 May 2017