Rescue Boat Racing Premiership Begins

The first round of the NSW IRB (Inflatable Rescue Boat) Premiership series kicks off this weekend 4-5 May at Mollymook in the Shoalhaven.

Mollymook SLSC with the support of the Shoalhaven City Council is looking forward to once again hosting one of the most exciting forms of competition in surf lifesaving.

This year more than 300 competitors, from about 20 clubs throughout NSW will compete in each round of the series in an attempt to not only take out the Premiership title, but to win a spot on the NSW IRB State Team.

Dan Pearce, Surf Sports Manager for Surf Life Saving NSW says the number of IRB competitors continues to grow each season.

“This year we have interest from new teams from the Mid North Coast and South Coast. The clubs that have been around for many years also continue to grow in size proving that IRB racing is a great team sport.

“IRB racing gives our members a chance to further improve the strength, fitness and skills required to carry out rescues in real life situations during the summer period. The athletes that you will see during the Series are the same men and women performing the rescues on a daily basis,” said Dan.

Mayor Joanna Gash welcomed the NSW IRB Premiership competitors back to the Shoalhaven.

“The NSW IRB Premiership is part of our ongoing work in the area of special events, which is an important part of how we market the region and continue to promote growth in our tourism industry. Sporting events, including events such as the NSW IRB Premiership, provide a significant financial benefit to the Shoalhaven economy,” Clr. Gash said.

South Coast club Kiama Downs dominated the Premiership last year and hopes to repeat its performance and take out the overall pointscore again in 2013. Main challengers will be Thirroul who won the competition in 2011 and was second in the overall pointscore last year. North Cronulla was in hot pursuit in 2012, only one point behind Thirroul.

Clubs competing again this year include Avalon Beach, Catherine Hill Bay, Forster, Kiama Downs, North Avoca, North Cronulla, North Narrabeen, Shellharbour, South Maroubra, Terrigal, Thirroul and Woonona.

Round 1 - Mollymook SLSC – 8am 4-5 May 2013
Round 2 - Forster SLSC (Mid North Coast)18 May
State – Fingal Beach SLSC (Hunter) 8-9 June
Round 3 & 4 - Newport SLSC (Sydney Northern Beaches) 22-23 June

For further information on Round 1 of the IRB Premiership visit the event page.

Mon 29 Apr 2013