Ryan Rosenbaum Awarded Lifesaver of the Year In a Big Night For NSW

Tacking Point Surf Life Saving Club’s Ryan Rosenbaum has won DHL Surf Lifesaver of the Year at Surf Life Saving Australia’s (SLSA) 2013 Awards of Excellence.

As Tacking Point SLSC’s Patrol Captain for six years and the first on-call duty officer in his region, Rosenbaum was instrumental in the development of a text message system for duty officers across NSW in the 2012-13 season.

In a strong showing for Surf Life Saving in NSW, our members took out another four major award on the night

Pittwater Lifeguard, Tim Daymond of the Australian Lifeguard Service (ALS) was awarded DHL Lifeguard of the Year.

Shelly Beach lifesaver, Don van Keimpema was announced as Official of the Year for the second year in a row while Adrienne Lowe of Dee Why SLSC was awarded Assessor of the Year.

As well as winning Australian Surf Sports Athlete of the Year, Manly LSC’s Naomi Flood was inducted into SLSA’s Hall of Fame.

Surf Life Saving Australia President, Graham Ford paid tribute to all the award winners on the night.

“The Awards of Excellence is an excellent opportunity to honour those surf lifesavers, administrators, athletes, coaches and Surf Life Saving Clubs who work tirelessly to keep our beaches safe throughout the year.

“All of the winners here tonight have made a significant contribution to Surf Life Saving, whether at a club, state or national level. I congratulate all of them for their dedication and hard work,” he said.

15 Meritorious Awards were also presented to surf lifesavers who went beyond the call of duty during the 2012-13 season.

Mr Nickolas Varvaris MP, Member for Barton represented the Prime Minister, the Hon Tony Abbott MP at the event, addressing surf lifesavers, dignitaries and special guests.

Mon 28 Oct 2013