Surf Life Saving Members in Honours List

A number of members of Surf Life Saving in NSW have been named in the Australia Day Honours List for 2014.

Former NSW politician and Bilgola SLSC active member and patron, John Brogden, became a Member (AM) of the General Division of the Order of Australia.

Several past and present members also received Medals in the Order of Australia (OAM).

Yamba SLSC and Far North Coast official and coach, Jim Dougherty, was awarded an OAM for Service to Surf Life Saving and the community.

Cronulla Life Member John Holt (pictured) also received an OAM for service to sport, particularly Surf Life Saving and triathlon competition and administration. John was Australia’s first World Ironman Champion, winning titles in 1972 and 1974, and won five NSW Ironman Championship titles during the 70s.

Coogee SLSC member since 1962, Joseph Seddon, was awarded an OAM for Service to Surf Life Saving. He held many administrative and competition positions at club, branch and State level and was a director of the Westpac Lifesaver Rescue Helicopter Service for many years. Sadly he passed away late last year.

London Olympic Gold Medal kayakers Dave Smith (Warilla-Barrack Point SLSC) and Murray Stewart (Manly LSC) also received OAMs for service to sport.

On behalf of all Surf Lifesavers, congratulations to those members named in the Australia Day honours list for 2014 and thank you for your dedication over many years to Surf Life Saving and the community.

Sun 26 Jan 2014