Team Honours For Bulli Boaties

It’s been a golden year for the members of the Male Open Surf Boat crew at Bulli Surf Life Saving Club who have enjoyed wins at almost every level. Now they have one more reason to celebrate after being crowned Team of the Year at the NSW Surf Life Saving Awards of Excellence.

The team that consists of Heath Mercer, Dean Roberts, Fraser Worthington, Ben Lowe and swept by Shane Geloven have been in scintillating form throughout the 2015/16 summer, and were popular winners of the award.

In a year of dominant performances they won gold at the Beko Best of the Best Surf Boast Challenge, The NSW State Championships, and at the Australian Boat Championships in as well as a host of other successful results at various competitions throughout the season.

It was some 36 years ago Bulli Open Men’s Boat Crew last won the Australian Championships which was held at Kingscliff Beach NSW.

Their NSW title was particularly memorable as it was their fourth in succession, a huge achievement given the ever rising standard of Surf Boat Racing in the Men’s Open division at present.

“We are lucky to have good coaches at our club but it comes down to the rowers so hats off to them for all they’ve achieved. They train hard, they work hard and eventually luck comes your way and the results have shown,” said Bulli Sweep Shane Geoloven.

“This is brilliant for Bulli SLSC and we’re attracting new rowers the sport and the Bulli community have been a great support.”

When they’re not out on the water the team are out helping the club with fundraising and fulfilling patrol duties. Always willing to lend a hand to whatever is required they are true clubmen, and proud local juniors who are now reaping the rewards that their hard work deserves.

The 2016 SLSNSW Awards of Excellence are proudly presented by Stramit Building Products. Over 350 of Surf Life Saving’s most outstanding lifesavers, athletes, educators, coaches, and administrators from around NSW gathered at Sydney’s iconic Four Seasons Hotel for a night of celebration.

For a full list of all the winners, and to see photographs from the night, please visit the SLSNSW Awards of Excellence Event Page or our social media channels.

Photo: Bulli Open Male Surf Boat crew at the 2016 SLSNSW Awards of Excellence.

Mon 15 Aug 2016