

Memorandum

To:	All SLSNSW Branches and clubs
From:	SLSNSW
Date:	26/10/20
Pages:	2
Subject:	Grant Opportunity – NSW Bushfire Local Economic Recovery Fund (opens 27/10; closes 11/12)

The NSW Gov Bushfire Local Economic Recovery Fund opens on 27/10/20 and closes 11/2/20. The Fund's objective is to support economic and social recovery at a local and regional level in areas impacted by the 2019- 2020 bushfires

Funding is available in three categories:

- 1. **Infrastructure projects**, such as facilities to support social community development, community refuge centres, energy security infrastructure, paths, etc. <u>minimum \$400,000 to maximum \$20m</u>
- 2. **Environmental projects**, e.g. regeneration activities, coastal protection minimum \$200,000 to maximum \$4m
- 3. **Programs including social, business and environmental education initiatives**, such as community mental health programs, tourism campaigns and regional events <u>minimum \$200,000 to maximum \$4m</u>

Attachments include but are not limited to:

- evidence of community support (e.g. letters of support, community surveys, meeting minutes, local media).
- development and other approvals (strongly recommended)
- quotes and completed budget (for projects over \$1m, completed business case on grant template)
- project plan on grant template

Key points to note:

- Organisations in the LGAs stated in the guidelines can apply the full list of eligible LGAs can be found at www.nsw.gov.au/regional-nsw/bushfire-local-economic-recovery-fund, and is also at Appendix A. However, applicants located in other LGAs may apply IF they propose to undertake a project in an eligible LGA/s and have a strong case that the project will have primary benefits for the eligible LGA/s.
- Applicants are strongly encouraged to make a financial co-contribution, but this is not mandatory. Cocontribution from other Government funding sources/grants can be used as part of your overall project's cocontribution where the existing funding is for a single component, stage or aspect.
- Applicants must demonstrate the project's outcome will: improve community resilience to future natural disasters; reduce future disaster risks; provide ongoing facilities for community use; provide community services; provide economic benefit for the area; and/or sustained employment opportunities.
- Projects must commence within six months of deed being executed (approx. April 2021) and end by June 2022.

Applications close **11 December 2020**. The application and guidelines can be accessed at www.nsw.gov.au/regional-nsw/bushfire-local-economic-recovery-fund.

To provide more assistance to our Clubs and volunteers, SLSNSW provide a range of grant services for club (at no fee) through SLSA's Grant Seeking Unit (GSU). If you would like the GSU to assist with the writing and submission of an application, or you have any queries in relation to this funding opportunity, please contact one of the following:

Megan McKayorRebecca McClymontorZan Marshall07 3177 581407 3177 584407 3177 5824mmckay@slsfoundation.com.aurmcclymont@slsfoundation.com.auzmarshall@slsfoundation.com.au

Kind regards

SLSNSW



Appendix A: Full list of eligible LGAs for the NSW Bushfire Local Economic Recovery Program

Eligible LGAs include:

- Armidale Regional Council
- Ballina Shire Council
- Bega Valley Shire Council
- Bellingen Shire Council
- Blue Mountains City Council
- Byron Shire Council
- Central Coast Council
- Cessnock City Council
- Clarence Valley Council
- Coffs Harbour City Council
- Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council
- Dungog Shire Council
- Eurobodalla Shire Council
- Glen Innes Severn Council
- Goulburn Mulwaree Council
- Greater Hume Shire Council
- Gwydir Shire Council
- Hawkesbury City Council
- Inverell Shire Council
- Kempsey Shire Council
- Kyogle Council
- Lake Macquarie City Council
- Lismore City Council
- City of Lithgow Council

- MidCoast Council
- Mid-Western Regional Council
- Muswellbrook Shire Council
- Nambucca Shire Council
- Narrabri Shire Council
- Oberon Council
- Port Macquarie-Hastings Council
- Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council
- Richmond Valley Council
- Shoalhaven City Council
- Singleton Council
- Snowy Monaro Regional Council
- Snowy Valleys Council
- Tamworth Regional Council
- Tenterfield Shire Council
- Tweed Shire Council
- Upper Hunter Shire Council
- Upper Lachlan Shire Council
- Uralla Shire Council
- Wagga Wagga City Council
- Walcha Council
- Wingecarribee Shire Council
- Wollondilly Shire Council