Skip to main content
Surf Life Saving NSW is preparing to celebrate the commitment and heroic actions of the season’s most outstanding volunteers at the 2016 Surf Life Saving NSW Awards of Excellence, proudly presented by Stramit Building Products.

Every year Surf Life Saving members are officially recognised for their hard work and dedication to Surf Life Saving in NSW. The Awards of Excellence will be held at The Four Seasons Hotel in Sydney on Saturday 13 August.

Some of the night's top awards include Surf Lifesaver of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Branch and Club of the Year.

2016 SLSNSW Awards of Excellence Finalists

Surf Lifesaver of the Year:

  • Luke Blunn, Evans Head-Casino

  • Tony Worton, Camden Haven

  • Brendan Pieschel, Crowdy Head

  • Tim Howes, Newcastle

  • Alan Moffitt, Avoca Beach and Ocean Beach

  • Rebecca Chapman, North Steyne

  • Kane Hughes, North Cronulla

  • Manuel Schuldt, North Wollongong

  • William Vaughan-Smith, Bermagui

Volunteer of the Year:

  • David Rope, Salt

  • Michelle Garvan, Camden Haven

  • Dominique Augey, Crowdy Head

  • John Mayo, Cooks Hill

  • Kai Darwin, Umina

  • Benjamin Matthews, Newport

  • Paul Hotton, North Bondi

  • Kaye Norris, Windang

  • Sussan Hunt, Batemans Bay

Club of the Year:

  • Ballina Lighthouse and Lismore

  • Tacking Point

  • Toowoon Bay

  • North Bondi

  • Woonona

  • Nowra-Culburra

Trainer of the Year:

  • Robert Readman, Cabarita Beach

  • Tony Hallinan, Tacking Point

  • Brendan Pieschel, Crowdy Head

  • Tony Blake, Cooks Hill

  • Jodie Walker, North Avoca

  • David Spink, Dee Why

  • Kerrie Hammell, Cronulla

  • Larry Jennett, Wollongong City

  • Michael Lambert, Broulee Surfers

Assessor of the Year:

  • Timothy Payne, Ballina Lighthouse and Lismore

  • Paul Rayner, Tacking Point

  • David Mansfield, Terrigal

  • Lindsay Davis Freshwater

  • Ben McCormack, North Bondi

  • Peter Turner, Helensburgh-Stanwell Park

Surf Sports Official of the Year:

  • Belinda Pye, Cabarita Beach

  • Ray McDonagh, South West Rocks

  • Kylie Moore, Crowdy Head

  • Stephen Marley, Catherine Hill Bay

  • Ken Sellers, The Entrance

  • Nigel Penn, Bilgola

  • Wayne Druery, Cronulla

  • Peter Hammersley, Bulli

  • Kel Pearce, Broulee Surfers

Surf Sports Coach of the Year:

  • Scott McCartney, Cudgen Headland

  • Scott Edwards, Kempsey-Crescent Head

  • Scott Bryant, Caves Beach

  • Richard Brierty, Avoca Beach

  • Peter Spence, Palm Beach

  • Daniel Robberds, Helensburgh-Stanwell Park

  • Neil Innes, Batemans Bay

Surf Sports Athlete of the Year:

  • Nadi Canning, Cudgen Headland

  • Daniel Collins, Redhead

  • Jemma Smith, Umina

  • Georgia Miller, Newport

  • Ali Najem, Wanda

  • Blake Drysdale, Helensburgh-Stanwell Park

  • Joseph Halsey, Narooma

Masters Athlete of the Year:

  • Nadi Canning, Cudgen Headland

  • Larry Brook, Port Macquarie

  • Laura Thurtell, Forster

  • Marilyn Clarence, Swansea Belmont

  • Paul Lemmon, Terrgial

  • Michael Gedz, Queenscliff

  • Jim Walker, North Bondi

  • Davina Strauss, Coledale

Young Athlete of the Year:

  • Jy Timperley, Byron Bay

  • Ethan Coates, Cooks Hill

  • Jemma Smith, Umina

  • Callum Lowe-Griffiths, Queenscliff

  • Lizzie Welborn, North Bondi

  • Jazmine Yew, Helensburgh-Stanwell Park

Team of the Year:

  • Ballina Lighthouse and Lismore Education Team

  • Surf Life Saving Mid North Coast Member Services Team

  • Umina SLSC Under 17 Female Surf & Pool Team

  • Palm Beach Puma's

  • Surf Life Saving Sydney Duty Officer Team

  • Bulli Open Mens Boat Crew

  • Kiama Downs IRB Female Teams

  • Narooma Open Mens Boat Crew

Initiative of the Year:

  • Ballina Lighthouse and Lismore/Lennox Head-Alstonville Nippers Inclusion Day

  • Macksville-Scotts Head Waves Program

  • Surf Life Saving Central Coast Mariners "Red and Yellow Day"

  • Avalon Beach SLSC Youth Program

  • Surf Life Saving Sydney Members App

  • Bulli Sea Cliff Ocean Paddle Challenge

  • Tathra and Jindabyne Yabbies - Jindabyne Junior Carnival

Facilitator of the Year:

  • Maryanne Sewell, Byron Bay

  • Ramzy Fawzy, Wamberal

  • Clare Hagon, North Curl Curl

  • Gary Daly, Burning Palms

  • Stuart Massey, Towradgi

Administrator of the Year:

  • Max Tutt, Byron Bay

  • Brienna Elford, South West Rocks

  • Trudy Smith, Cooks Hill

  • Garry Lofberg, Killcare

  • Charles Longley, South Narrabeen

  • Alison Vuletic, Maroubra SLSC

  • Wendy Law, Broulee Surfers

Branch of the Year:

  • Central Coast

  • Sydney Northern Beaches

  • Sydney

Young Lifesaver of the Year:

  • Sam Atkins, Brunswick

  • Lachlan Hawkins, Wauchope Bonny Hills

  • Samantha Hallett, Caves Beach

  • Matthew Calbert, Ocean Beach

  • Kyra Jenkins, North Steyne

  • Tom Barker, Clovelly

  • Kieran McKay, North Wollongong

Community Education Program:

  • Cabarita Beach, Community Education Program

  • Macksville-Scotts Head, Waves Program

  • Surf Life Saving Central Coast, Community Surf Education Program

  • North Bondi, Understanding ‘ICE’ Addiction

  • Woonona, Balranald Central School Education Visit

Rescue of the Year:

  • July/ August - South Maroubra SLSC

  • September - ALS Ballina

  • October - Fingal Rovers SLSC

  • November - Wamberal SLSC

  • December - Bulli SLSC

  • January - Avoca SLSC

  • February - North Steyne SLSC & Manly SLSC

  • March - Coffs Harbour SLSC

  • April - North Bondi SLSC

  • May/June – TBA on Friday 22 July 2016

Lifeguard of the Year:

  • Angus Macphail, Tweed Shire Council

  • Elizabeth Hannah Smith, Clarence Valley Council


Monday 18 July 2016