Skip to main content

Recognising the invaluable contributions made by members, clubs and branches is extremely important to Surf Life Saving.

The award categories recognised at Surf Life Saving NSW reflect the core activities undertaken by members.


The awards marked with an * are recognised at both state and national levels. Those awards not marked are recognised at state level only.

  • Surf Lifesaver of the Year*
  • Volunteer of the Year*
  • Club of the Year*
  • Youth Surf Lifesaver of the Year*
  • Patrol Captain of the Year
  • Support Operations Member of the Year
  • Trainer of the Year*
  • Assessor of the Year*
  • Facilitator of the Year
  • Community Education Program of the Year*
  • Innovation Award*
  • Youth Volunteer of the Year
  • Administrator of the Year
  • Youth Athlete of the Year*
  • Athlete of the Year*
  • Masters Athlete of the Year
  • Surf Sports Team of the Year
  • Coach of the Year*
  • Official of the Year*


Members should apply for awards at a club level, clubs will submit nominations on behalf of their members for their Branch awards. Branches will then submit nominations on behalf of their members to SLSNSW before the end of June with the SLSNSW Awards of Excellence event held at the end of August.


The SLSNSW Awards of Excellence recognise and celebrate all members and their hard work, commitment, and passion for Surf Lifesaving. Please find more details of the night and tickets here!