Skip to main content

They may have had the longest trek to the 2018 Envirobank Country Surf Life Saving Championships but the lifesavers made the most of their journey to South West Rocks last weekend, returning home with a number of solid results.

Batemans Bay were the top performing Far South club finishing 23rd overall ahead of Narooma (27th), Tathra (28th) and Broulee Surfers (33rd).

Sam Blake got the Batemans Bay campaign off to a flying start winning gold in the U10 Beach Flag and Surf Race while also managing a third place finish on the Board while his brother Jackson Blake was also a double gold medallist for the Bay club after taking out the U13 Ironman and Surf Race before rounding out his medal tally with a bronze on the Board.

Last season Geordie Kemp impressed all with his blistering speed on his way to both Country and NSW titles and the youngster showed his pace again to take out the U15 Beach Sprint/Flag double.

Narooma’s Ellie Beecham was the club’s lone gold medallist after becoming the best U14 Female Flagger at the Country Championships, while fellow club members Aiden Miles (U14 Beach Sprint), and Travis Stubbs (U11 Beach Flags) both finished the weekend with bronze medals.

Tathra had the distinction of being the most southerly of all competing clubs but they too enjoyed plenty of success with their small team being led by Louella Boulton who finished with a medal of each colour (gold in U15 Board Riding, silver 2km Beach Run, and bronze in Beach Sprint), and Melissa Meaker who was a finalist in the 40-49 Rescue Tube event.

Broulee’s Lara Elliot rounded out the medal winning performances for the Far South Coast by claiming silver in the U9 Surf Race.  

NSW Surf Sports Manager Rob Pidgeon said it was an excellent weekend of competition.

The 2018 Envirobank NSW Country Championships were held at South West Rocks from 3-4 February. Action will return in February 2019 when the event moves to Kingscliff on the state’s Far North Coast.

Top 10 Overall Standings

Cudgen Headland SLSS (1048 points)

Sawtell SLSC (619)

Byron Bay SLSC (494)

Warilla Barrack Point SLSC (349)           

Lennox Head - Alstonville SLSC (348)   

Mollymook SLSC (299)                          

Port Macquarie SLSC (263)                    

Yamba SLSC (209)                                  

Coffs Harbour SLSC (186)                      

Tacking Point SLSC (185)                       

Friday 9 February 2018