Skip to main content
After hosting the NSW Surf Life Saving Championships for four years, Ocean Beach SLSC will welcome a very different, high-octane event this weekend. The Central Coast club is the venue for Round 3 of the NSW IRB (Inflatable Rescue Boat) Premiership.

It will be a full weekend of racing due to Round 2 at Mollymook being postponed due to unfavourable conditions. Round 2 Semi-finals and finals will be held as well as the full program of events for Round 3.

More than 320 surf lifesavers from 26 clubs will be out to show what they can do at the halfway point of this year’s IRB Premiership season.

Clubs will once again be trying to catch Kiama Downs SLSC who took the points in Round 1 at Caves Beach and impressed at Mollymook in the heats and quarter finals.

It was back in 2010 when Ocean Beach SLSC last held a NSW IRB carnival.

“We’re very excited to host the best IRB competitors in NSW. We just hope conditions are favourable and our teams compete well throughout the two days of racing,” Ocean Beach SLSC President Scott Hannell said.

“IRB racing is the formula one of surf lifesaving so it would be good to see a big crowd cheering on not just Ocean Beach, but all Central Coast clubs competing.”

With the home advantage and their second year in the sport, the local lifesavers will be ready to go when racing starts on Saturday morning.

Surf Life Saving NSW Sports Officer, James Trickey says this weekend is crucial for teams due to two rounds of finals being run.

“Having finals for both round two and three at Ocean Beach means teams will be racing harder than ever to gain points,” said Mr Trickey.

“It’s amazing to see the number of surf lifesavers competing this weekend, it shows the new formats brought in this year, including over 45 years division and composite teams, are reaping rewards for the sport.”

The third round of the NSW IRB Premiership will kick off at 8am on Saturday 3 June with the semi-finals and finals of Round 2 to follow.

Clubs competing in the NSW IRB Premiership Round 3:

Avalon Beach SLSC, Bungan Beach SLSC, Catherine Hill Bay SLSC, Caves Beach SLSC, Coogee SLSC, Cooks Hill SLSC, Forster SLSC, Kiama Downs SLSC, Manly LSC, Maroubra SLSC, Newcastle SLSC, Newport SLSC, Nobbys SLSC, North Avoca SLSC, North Cronulla SLSC, North Narrabeen SLSC, Ocean Beach SLSC, Queenscliff SLSC, South Maroubra SLSC, Terrigal SLSC, Thirroul SLSC, Woonona SLSC and Macmasters/Umina/Wamberal/Soldiers Beach SLSCs (Central Coast Composite Team).