Skip to main content

The first medals for the 2018 NSW Championships have been decided after a compelling day of action at Swansea’s iconic Blacksmiths Beach.

For the second straight year the traditional Champion Lifesaver event was given top billing on the Saturday as the Championship season got underway.

Points weren’t the only things on the line for the lifesavers with only the first two finishers earning a starting position at next month’s Australian Titles.

The Champion Lifesaver event is for individuals (both male and female) in the U15, 17, 19, Open, 30-39 and 40+ Age groups.

It consists of three parts; a multiple choice exam, CPR scenarios, and a skills competition in a Beach Sprint, Surf Race, Board Race, and Tube Race.

To be crowned champion, a lifesaver must perform at a highly competent level throughout the entirety of the event with the competitor’s skills judged at every turn.

It was a solid start to the competition for Manly with the northern beaches powerhouse earning gold medals courtesy of strong performances from Christopher Currlli (U19), Luca White (U15), Sarah Murdoch (U15), and Melanie Thomas (30-39).

Other clubs who enjoyed success included Freshwater with Lucas Phillips taking out the Open Male event, and the club winning 4 of the six medals on offer in the division.

Umina won three gold medals with Mollie Murphy, Kirsten Miller, and Christine Bishop all standing on top of the podium, while Phoebe Savage and Guyren Smith (Newport), William Davison (Coogee), and Ian Manley (Helensburgh-Stanwell Park) also recorded wins.

2018 Champion Lifesaver Event – Medallists

Open Male

Lucas Phillips – Freshwater SLSC

Allen Lakemen – Dee Why SLSC

Christopher Cooper – Bondi Surf Bathers LSC

Open Female

Phoebe Savage – Newport SLSC

Clare Freakley – Freshwater SLSC

Tahlia Dearden – Freshwater SLSC

U19 Male

Christopher Currlli – Manly LSC

James Wacher – Manly LSC

James Rice – Bronte SLSC

U19 Female

Mollie Murphy – Umina SLSC

Grace Owen – Queenscliff SLSC

Georgina Ryan – Bronte SLSC

U17 Male

William Davison – Coogee SLSC

Joe Jenkins – North Steyne SLSC

Finn Drips – Jan Juc (Victoria) *

Ewan Cooper-Frater – North Steyne SLSC

Two bronze medals were awarded in this division under competition rules after third place was claimed by an interstate competitor.

U17 Female

Kirsten Miller – Umina SLSC

Victoria Cuthbert – Manly LSC

Emily Thornton – Queenscliff SLSC

U15 Male

Luca White – Manly LSC

Keaton Pollington – Terrigal SLSC

Tom Rodham – Umina SLSC

U15 Female

Sarah Murdoch – Manly LSC

Tamsyn Gould – Terrigal SLSC

Alexandra Davison – Coogee SLSC

30-39 Male

Ian Manley – Helensburgh-Stanwell Park SLSC

30-39 Female

Melanie Thomas – Manly LSC

Kristy McIntyre – Bondi Surf Bathers LSC

Emma Larssen – Cronulla SLSC

40+ Male

Guyren Smith – Newport SLSC

Mark Fabik – Bondi Surf Bathers SLSC

Timothy Cuthbert – Manly LSC

40+ Female

Christine Bishop – Umina SLSC

Janet Proudfoot – Newport SLSC

Deborah Foote – North Steyne SLSC

The 2018 NSW Surf Life Saving Championships proudly supported by your Local Club will continue at Blacksmiths Beach, Swansea on Friday 2 March when competition in the Age Championships gets underway


Tuesday 27 February 2018