Skip to main content

The future of surf sports across the Lower North Coast looks to be in good hands after a number of athletes achieved exceptional results at the 2018 Envirobank Country Surf Life Saving Championships held at South West Rocks last weekend.

Forster SLSC led the way for the region finishing 19th overall ahead of Cape Hawke (20), Blackhead (32) and Taree-Old Bar (34).

For Forster it was their experienced competitors who got among the gold medals with Kim Winter (50-59 Age Group) claiming five gold medals in the Beach Flag, Sprint, Board, Single Ski and 2KM Beach Run, while Andrew Jones was a dual gold medallist after winning the 40-49 Long Board and Surf Board Riding events.

There was plenty of gold too for local rivals Cape Hawke SLSC. Isabella Fitzgerald can call herself a double Country gold medallist after taking out the U10 Beach Flag and Sprint events. Brother Julian also took home a gold medal after winning the U14 Beach Sprint, while Adam Mulligan (40-49) completed the gold medal performance on the sand by winning his sprint event.

Not to be outdone, the 180+Yr Female Surf Boat Crew took out the gold medal in their race with the crew consisting of Raelene Carmichael, Jennifer Curtis, Leanne Irving, Natalie Kelly, and David Rankin (sweep).

There was more joy in the surfboats for Taree-Old Bar after their Open Female crew of Maggie Collins, Sarah Little, Jane Lynch, Corinne Stevenson, and Ben Stevenson (sweep) finished with bronze medals draped around their necks.

Maddison Aiken from Blackhead was the lone medallist from her club after picking up silver in the U15 sprint, putting an exclamation mark on a successful weekend for the Lower North Coast.

NSW Surf Sports Manager Rob Pidgeon said it was an excellent weekend of competition.

The 2018 Envirobank NSW Country Championships were held at South West Rocks from 3-4 February. Action will return in February 2019 when the event moves to Kingscliff on the state’s Far North Coast.

Top 10 Overall Standings

Cudgen Headland SLSS (1048 points)

Sawtell SLSC (619)

Byron Bay SLSC (494)

Warilla Barrack Point SLSC (349)           

Lennox Head - Alstonville SLSC (348)   

Mollymook SLSC (299)                          

Port Macquarie SLSC (263)                    

Yamba SLSC (209)                                  

Coffs Harbour SLSC (186)                      

Tacking Point SLSC (185)                       

Friday 9 February 2018