Skip to main content

Surf Life Saving NSW is pleased to announce the surf boat crews chosen to represent NSW at the 2020 Interstate Surf Boat Championship to be held at Mollymook SLSC alongside the 2020 ASRL Open on Friday 14 February.

The Interstate Championship is a one-day-event and an opportunity for crews from around Australia to represent their state at a high level.

NSW are the defending champions and will be fielding eight teams at the event with Male and Female crews to contest the U19, U23, Reserve and Open Divisions.

Five clubs including North Cronulla (2 crews), South Curl Curl (2 crews), Palm Beach (2 crews), Newport (1 crew ) and Elouera (1 crew) will be represented at the action-packed event.

NSW Team Manager Greg Heard is confident that the crews selected will be able to retain the title.

“This year’s team is very well balanced with some new crews debuting for NSW and a number of crews returning to the team.

“Each crew is extremely competitive in their respective divisions. Whilst the other State teams are also gaining in strength, I am quietly confident that we will be able to hold them off and retain the interstate championships,” Heard said.

The 2020 Interstate Surf Boat Championships will be held at Mollymook SLSC alongside the 2020 ASRL Open on Friday 14 February.

NSW Surfboat Interstate Team

U19 Male – North Cronulla Bung Holes

  • Stephen Swane (Sweep)

  • Kane Butterfield

  • Jordan Fleming

  • Micheal de Francesco

  • Lockyer Barnes

U19 Female – South Curl Curl Bumps & Humps

  • Mark Spiteri (Sweep)

  • Nicky Berry

  • Laura Oliver

  • Mali Warneford

  • Vivienne Saunders

U23 Male - North Cronulla Purds

  • Adam Purdie (Sweep)

  • Christian Ruhen

  • Darcy Smith

  • Sam Barning

  • Blake Eason

U23 Female – Newport Thunder

  • Michael King (Sweep)

  • Tara Doyle

  • Abby Ballesty

  • Claudia Harris

  • Megan Barr

Reserve Male – Palm Beach Pork Ribs

  • Nick Wiadrowski (Sweep)

  • Hugh Salter

  • Rob Morris

  • Matt Wiadrowski

  • Ed Slattery

Reserve Female – Elouera Wilko

  • Grant Wilkinson (Sweep)

  • Jessica Thomas

  • Megan Langford

  • Priya Johnson

  • Sarah Hewson

Open Male – South Curl Curl Death Riders

  • Rob Lowery (Sweep)

  • Jordan Thurlow

  • Trent Rogers

  • Craig McCarthy

  • Mike Egan

Open Female – Palm Beach Patriots

  • Peter Spence (Sweep)

  • Verity Boulton

  • Esther Austin

  • Paparangi Hipango

  • Elly Reynolds

Team Manager – Greg Heard

Assistant Team Manager – Donna Wishart


Tuesday 4 February 2020