Skip to main content

Surf Life Saving NSW members were among those recognised for their outstanding contributions to the community in the Queen’s Birthday Honours announced in June 2019.

“The Surf Life Saving movement exists because of the generous contributions made by our members. To be invested with an Order of Australia Medal or a Member of the Order of Australia Award is recognition of exemplary achievement and contribution to the community. It is due recognition for our members who have gone above and beyond in their service,” said SLSNSW CEO Steven Pearce AFSM.

“Surf Life Saving’s members are our greatest asset. Members who received awards in the Queen’s Birthday Honours are outstanding members of the community.

“Each of the award recipients have devoted many years of service to protecting lives on our coastline and personify the values of Surf Life Saving. I would like to thank them all for their efforts and reiterate our pride in their many outstanding achievements,” said Steven Pearce.     

Order of Australia Medal (OAM) Recipients 2019

Michael Bartlett (Black Head SLSC) - For service to surf lifesaving.

Michael has been a member of Black Head SLSC since 2001. He is currently the Public Officer. He has held various roles including Boat Crew Sweep and Coach, Bar Manager, and Director of Administration.

Michael was a member of Bilgola SLSC between 1956-2001 and was President between 1971-1972 and 1977-1979. He was Vice-President between 1963-1964 and in 1970. He has been Club Captain, Chief Instructor and a Patrol Captain for over 38 years.

Michael was Deputy President of the Sydney Northern Beaches Branch.

In 2017 he was awarded the 60 Years Long Service Award by Surf Life Saving NSW.

John De Cean (Bondi and Wanda SLSCs) - For service to surf lifesaving.

John has held many roles in the Surf Life Saving Sydney Branch including; Director of Finance, President, Deputy President and Secretary.

In the Sydney Branch Juniors, he was a selector, President, Deputy President, Secretary, Delegate and Treasurer.

He has also been a competition official for the Australian Championships and the Australian Pool Championships.

John has held several executive positions at club level. His awards and recognition include: Grand Knight in the Order of Lifesaving, International Life Saving Federation; Life Member Bondi Junior Surf Life Saving Club, Surf Life Saving Sydney and Surf Life Saving NSW.

Robert Langbein (Collaroy SLSC) - For service to surf lifesaving.

Robert has held numerous positions with Collaroy SLSC including; Race Secretary, Club Delegate, Sydney Northern Beaches Club Secretary and Chief Instructor.

He has been a competition official for 16 years and received Life Membership of Collaroy SLSC in 2005.

Robert also worked at branch-level for Sydney Northern Beaches Branch including as beach coach and selector. He was a member of the Board of Examiners, a selector and competition panel member.

Robert’s awards and recognition includes: Life Member, Surf Life Saving NSW.

Kevin Neilson (Cronulla SLSC) - For service to surf lifesaving.

Kevin has held several important positions with Surf Life Saving including National Team Selector. He was a member of the Australian National Coaches Commission, the Sport Development Committee and the Elite Coach Sport Selection Committee. He was a competitor in the 1970 Australian Team.

Kevin has worked tirelessly in surf sports for Surf Life Saving NSW and became a Life Member in 2012. At various times he has been; Coaching Advisor, Coach of the Year, SLSA Championships Coach, Representative Team Manager, State Team Selector, Board of Surf Coaches Representative and a NSW representative competitor.

At branch-level Kevin has held many positions with Surf Life Saving Sydney including; Branch Team Selector, Coaching Advisor and competitor.

At club-level Kevin held executive positions with Cronulla SLSC including; Head Swim Coach, Club President, Deputy President and in 1980, Club Captain. He’s a Life Member and has competed for the club since 1966.

Don van Keimpema (Shelly Beach SLSC) - For service to surf lifesaving.

Don van Keimpema has been involved with Surf Life Saving since his children became Nippers in 1992. He is the current Director of Surf Sports for Surf Life Saving NSW. He has an extensive understanding of surf sports at all levels.

At a national level, Don has acted as Official Advisor, current Deputy Referee, Masters and Open Championships, referee at the Australian Pool Rescue Championships and a referee at the Coolangatta Gold.

Don has also been a scrutineer, Surf Sports official and has refereed various NSW Championships. He has been a Life Member of Surf Life Saving NSW since 2017.

Don has held numerous executive positions at a Branch and club level.

Don’s awards and recognition includes; National Official of the Year, NSW Official of the Year and he holds the Australian Sports Medal.

Member (AM) In the General Division of the Order of Australia

Lucy Brogden (Bilgola SLSC) - For significant service to workplace mental health and wellbeing.

Lucy has been the Chair of the National Mental Health Commission’s Advisory Board since 2018. She has also acted as Co-Chair and Advisor.

She is also the Chair of the Mentally Healthy Workplace Alliance, having been a member since 2014.

Lucy has been a patrol member at Bilgola SLSC since 1997.


Monday 10 June 2019