Skip to main content

An impressive group of the state’s brightest young lifesavers will come together on the Northern Beaches once again this April for the Ingenia Holiday Parks Junior Lifesaver of the Year (JLOTY) program – Surf Life Saving NSW’s flagship youth development programs.

Held from 24-26 April at The Collaroy Centre, JLOTY provides a platform to assist young lifesavers in growing their networks, establishing lasting connections and building knowledge through fun and interactive activities.

The JLOTY program brings together all 22 of the Junior Lifesavers of the Year, nominated and awarded at Branch level. At the end of the program, male and female overall NSW Junior Lifesavers of the Year winners are named.

The three-day camp is built around skill development, where the budding young lifesavers will work with like-minded volunteers to build a greater awareness of opportunities and individual abilities in the membership.

“It was very nerve-racking, but it was also chill. You learn very quickly that everyone there with you is deserving of the title as well,” 2023 co-NSW Lifesaver of the Year, Kaylah Broadhead of Nobbys SLSC said.

“We got to really learn and understand where everybody comes from and what they do, and it was a big part of our development,” said fellow NSW winner, Coogee SLSC’s Calum Reiter.

Ingenia Holiday Parks is once again on board as Naming Rights partner of the JLOTY program, with Executive General Manager of Tourism, Matt Young stating the East Coast holiday park operator was proud to be supporting our future leaders.

“We are extremely proud to support the Junior Lifesaver of the Year program again in its 34th year to recognise the next generation of volunteer lifesavers and lifeguards,” he said.

“It is truly inspiring to watch these kids actively ensuring the safety of our beaches and communities, especially knowing that many of our holiday park guests go swimming at the beach.

“These junior lifesavers make Australia a better place, and we are grateful.”

The Ingenia Holiday Parks Junior Lifesavers of the Year will be awarded at a presentation on 26 April – livestreamed on Facebook.


Far North Coast – Kayden Muller, Ballina Lighthouse & Lismore SLSC

Far North Coast – Abigail Matthews, Lennox Head-Alstonville SLSC

North Coast – James Freeman, Bellinger Valley-North Beach SLSC

North Coast – Lily-Mei Wong, Woolgoolga SLSC

Mid North Coast – Cooper Walmsley, Hat Head SLSC

Mid North Coast – Sienna Ward, Hat Head SLSC

Lower North Coast – Blake Stewart, Crowdy Head SLSC

Lower North Coast – Calista Elmer, Crowdy Head SLSC

Hunter – Max Mietzel, Newcastle SLSC

Hunter – Abbey Keighran, Tea Gardens Hawks Nest SLSC

Central Coast – Seamus Devenish Meares, Wamberal SLSC

Central Coast – Remy Avis, North Avoca SLSC

Sydney Northern Beaches – Louis Stapf-Giannakis, Freshwater SLSC

Sydney Northern Beaches – Riley Atkinson, Mona Vale SLSC

Sydney – Jack Castles, Bondi SBLSC

Sydney – Ebony Springall, North Cronulla SLSC

Illawarra – Audrey Steffan, Scarborough Wombarra SLSC

Illawarra – William Papandreas, Helensburgh-Stanwell Park SLSC

South Coast – Archie Weir, Kiama Downs SLSC

South Coast – Poppy Nelson, Kiama SLSC

Far South Coast – Maxim Savchencko-Ray, Bermagui SLSC

Far South Coast – Zara Hall, Moruya SLSC

Wednesday 28 February 2024