Skip to main content

Surf Life Saving NSW is pleased to confirm the elevation of ten long-serving lifesavers to the exalted status of Life Membership.

The announcement came during last Friday’s Annual General Meeting and honours the members for their outstanding contributions across all levels of Surf Life Saving.

“It’s always an exciting time of year to be able to honour our members for their contribution to the movement,” said SLSNSW CEO Steven Pearce.

“This year’s group certainly deserve their elevation to this elite group of surf lifesavers and we congratulate them on their efforts,” he said.

The class of 2017 all boast impressive resumes.

Combined the group have more than 300 years of experience on the beach, and represent five different branches.

They’ve been officials, presidents, leaders and coaches, and while all have had their own unique journeys within Surf Life Saving what they have in common is a passion for life on the beach and a dedication to their community.

2017 SLSNSW Life Members

  • Robert Asser – Freshwater SLSC 

  • Gary Daly – Coogee SLSC 

  • Geoffrey Forshaw – Cronulla SLSC 

  • Jeffery Hewitt – South Curl Curl SLSC 

  • Donald McAlister – Corrimal SLSC 

  • Ray Petersen – Manly LSC 

  • Wayne Scott – Red Rock – Corindi SLSC 

  • David Unger – Ocean Beach SLSC 

  • Donald van Keimpema – Shelly Beach SLSC 

  • John Wake – Coffs Harbour SLSC 

The new inductees will be formally presented to the wider movement at a special ceremony during the 2018 NSW Surf Life Saving Championships at Blacksmiths Beach, Swansea next March.


Monday 6 November 2017