Skip to main content
After NSW finished on equal points with Western Australia last season the stage is set for a fierce contest when the 2017 Interstate Surfboat Challenge gets underway at Shellharbour tomorrow.

Friday’s competition promises to be highly entertaining with the NSW crews desperate to regain the trophy in their own right.

Three of the crews – Palm Beach Open Women and Reserve Men, and North Cronulla U19s are backing up for a second consecutive season, while the qualifying series throughout the summer has proved that the squad is certainly in form.

The Bulli Open Men’s crew have been rewarded with selection after another dominant campaign while North Cronulla are set to capitalise on their recent run of great results by fielding three crews.

Conditions are expected to be favourable for the crews with consistent sets of around two to three foot waves forecast, while it is again expected to be another hot day on the water.

NSW Sports Development Officer Tim Piper is expecting a strong performance from the blues.

“All the crews selected have shown great promise over the summer season as they accrued points during the various competitions.

“The athletes are under no illusions about the challenge that awaits, but I am sure that they will be out there ready to give their best and hopefully bring home the trophy for NSW,” Mr Piper said.

All the action it can be streamed via the ASRL Website from 3:45pm AEDT

The 2017 Interstate Surfboat Challenge will take place at Shellharbour Beach on Friday 17 February. Action gets underway from 4pm.

NSW Surfboat Interstate Team

Open Men – Bulli Gelcon

Dean Roberts

Ben Lowe

Heath Mercer

Fraser Worthington

Shane Geloven

Open Women – Palm Beach Patriots

Verity Boulton

Lucy Polkinghorne

Elyse Reynolds

Alexandra Tyrrell

Peter Spence

Reserve Men – Palm Beach Projects

Phillip Blacklaw

Jack Hook

Scott Keenan

Antony Serventi

Peter Spence

Reserve Women - Wollongong Wildfire

Karri Ryan

Rani Hulme

Vida Oakes

Emma Prowse

Brett Dingwall

Under 23 Men – North Cronulla Purds

James Budd

Zac Hughes

Mitch Bouzounis

Jack Mentha

Adam Purdie

Under 23 Women – Newport Pistol Shrimp

Katherine Hulton

Celestine May

Piret May

Zoe King

Michael King

Under 19 Men – North Cronulla Purds

Christian Ruhen

Blake Eason

Karl Cleary

Darcy Smith

Adam Purdie

Under 19 Women – North Cronulla Funky

Alysha Lerond

Hayley Urquhart

Siobhan Davidson

Karli Hyer-Warton

Mark McDonald

Team Manager: - Greg Heard (Queenscliff SLSC)

Deputy Team Manager: - Lachlan Payne (Gerringong SLSC)


Thursday 16 February 2017