Skip to main content

Surf Life Saving NSW would like to congratulate a host of surf lifesavers who have been awarded the National Medal, as well as Second Clasps and First Clasps for their sustained service and commitment to Surf Life Saving.

Established in 1975 as a military recognition award, the National Medal has since branched out into government and voluntary organisations and is now Australia’s most awarded civil medal.

The National Medal is awarded to individuals on behalf of the Governor-General of Australia, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd) and recognises long and diligent service in organisations that are dedicated to protecting life and property at a degree of risk to their members.

National Medals can also be awarded to those who risk their lives or safety to protect or assist the community in enforcement of the law or in times of emergency or natural disaster.

“On behalf of our organisation I would like to congratulate the NSW recipients of this honour,” said Surf Life Saving NSW President, Peter Agnew.

“We are very lucky as a gazetted emergency service to be supported by more than 76,000 dedicated and passionate members, and this honour, in a way, is testament to their commitment to the movement and their character as individuals.”

Heading the list of those honoured are Rodney Austin OAM, Keith Claxton, and Ivan Johnson (Mollymook SLSC), Robert Dan (Merewether SLSC), Darcy Morrow (Ballina Lighthouse and Lismore SLSC) and Valoria Georgina Crick (Woonona SLSC) who received their Second Clasp for 35 years of service.

Surf Life Saving NSW volunteers with a minimum of 30 patrolling hours over a minimum period of 15 seasons, are eligible for the National Medal.

Batch 49

National Medal – 2nd Clasp (35 Years)

Rodney Austin OAM – Mollymook SLSC

Keith Claxton – Mollymook SLSC

Robert Dan – Merewether SLSC

Ivan Johnson – Mollymook SLSC

Darcy Morrow – Ballina Lighthouse and Lismore SLSC

National Medal – 1st Clasp (25 Years)

Keith Claxton – Mollymook SLSC

Gary Curtis – Cape Hawke SLSC

Robert Dan – Merewether SLSC

David Ellis – Pacific Palms SLSC

Brendan Guiney – Cape Hawke SLSC

George Kolek – Mollymook SLSC

Tracey Lake – Narrabeen Beach SLSC

Darcy Morrow – Ballina Lighthouse and Lismore SLSC

Keiren Paull – North Avoca SLSC

Matthew Slattery – North Avoca SLSC

Kevin Whitford – Mollymook SLSC

Damien Woods – South Maroubra SLSC

National Medal (15 Years)  

Nigel Ball – Avoca Beach SLSC

Cassandra Bickhoff – North Avoca SLSC

Aiden Blair – Wollongong City SLSC

Karen Bryce – Elouera SLSC

Lauren Budd – Newport SLSC

Jean-Paul Buhagiar – Bondi Surf Bathers LSC

Neville Bunn – Soldiers Beach SLSC

Robert Burfitt-Williams – Whale Beach SLSC Inc

Glenn Cairncross – Elouera SLSC

Diego Carrasco – Broulee Surfers SLSC

Shane Carter – Shelly Beach SLSC

Jessica Clifford – Kiama SLSC

Amelia Cole – Terrigal SLSC

Richard Cowan – The Entrance SLSC

James Crittenden – Freshwater SLSC

David Dawson – Sandon Point SLSC

Belinda Dobson – Freshwater SLSC

Richard Donaldson – North Steyne SLSC

Joshua Douglas – Kiama Downs SLSC

Matthew Edwards – Newport SLSC

Simon Falconer – Soldiers Beach SLSC

Josep Font Sadurni – Bondi Surf Bathers LSC

Deborah Foote – North Steyne SLSC

Stephen Foster – Sawtell SLSC

Kiva Galgut – North Bondi SLSC

Brian Gallagher – Mollymook SLSC

Gregory Gardner – Freshwater SLSC

David Gaston – Shellharbour SLSC

Gregory Gigas – Bellambi SLSC

David Gorman – Kiama SLSC

Naida Guy – Kiama Downs SLSC

Steven Guy – Kiama Downs SLSC

Paul Haes – Coogee SLSC

Michael Hass – Shellharbour SLSC

Peter Heald – Nowra-Culburra SLSC

Richard Hermens – Cooks Hill SLSC

Michael Holz – Kiama Downs SLSC

Bradley Honey – Kiama Downs SLSC

Anthony Ireland – Mollymook SLSC

Trina Jensen – Kiama Downs SLSC

David Johnson – Mollymook SLSC Inc.

Ian Keller – Byron Bay SLSC

Ronald Krite – Bondi Surf Bathers LSC

Daniel Lavery – Coogee SLSC

Geoffrey Leong – Coogee SLSC

Douglas Luckman – Kiama Downs SLSC

Mark Maddox – North Steyne SLSC

Alan Mahn – Avalon Beach SLSC

Nathan Mcinerney – Kiama SLSC

Rebecca Mister – Coogee SLSC

Drew Morgan – Redhead SLSC

Douglas Patrick – Collaroy SLSC

Andrew Pitt – Kiama SLSC

Stuart Presgrave – Elouera SLSC

Alexandra Salier – North Steyne SLSC

Brett Schweitzer – Kiama Downs SLSC

Paul Seymour – Elouera SLSC

Robert Sinclair – Kiama Downs SLSC

William Soulos – Elouera SLSC

Matthew Sproll – North Avoca SLSC

Stephen Strong – Kiama Downs SLSC

Andrew Sugerman – Elouera SLSC

Rosemarie Taliano – North Bondi SLSC

Mark Taylor – Elouera SLSC

Clive Thompson – Collaroy SLSC

Carolyn Tyne – Kiama SLSC

Grant Walsh – Nowra-Culburra SLSC

Susanne Whitford – Mollymook SLSC

Batch 50

National Medal – 2nd Clasp (35 Years)

Valoria Georgina Crick – Woonona SLSC

National Medal – 1st Clasp (25 Years)

Neville Bunn – Soldiers Beach SLSC

National Medal (15 Years) 

Matthew Evans – Maroubra SLSC

Mitchell Jon Hermens – Cooks Hill SLSC

Alan Moran – Avalon Beach SLSC

Bruce O’Sullivan – Mollymook SLSC

Symone Pearsall – Coledale SLSC

Adam Giles Taylor – Queenscliff SLSC