Skip to main content

A number of long serving surf club members have been recognised for their outstanding efforts and contributions to their respective communities in the 2019 Australia Day Honours List announced last weekend.

Current Bilgola President Romilly Madew was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for distinguished service to the construction sector as a change agent and advocate for sustainable building practices. Dave Thompson (Ocean Beach SLSC) and former Terrigal surf lifesaver Paul Sinclair became members in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AM).

Mr Thompson was awarded his honour for outstanding service to the lifesaving movement, while Mr Sinclair’s citation was for significant service to pharmacy, to the community, and to local government.

Fourteen current and former members were awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) which underscores the huge amount of work surf lifesavers do in their communities.

Five members; Barry Bennett (Manly LSC), William Cook (Umina Beach SLSC),  the late John Ludlow (South Maroubra SLSC), South Maroubra Life Member Karl Solomonson, and Steve Strange (Burning Palms SLSC) all received citations for their direct contributions to the Surf Life Saving movement.

Other OAM recipients who have been affiliated with the movement in the past (some are still active members) were honoured for other fields including working within their communities.

Donald Clinch, Patrick Connelly (both Woolgoolga SLSC), Robert Dan (Merewether SLSC), Ian Hanson (Freshwater SLSC), Rex Harding (Narrabeen SLSC), Paul McGrath (North Cronulla SLSC), David O’Brien (Cronulla SLSC), Greg Roberts (Long Reef SLSC), and Geoff Searl (Avalon Beach SLSC) can all now add the suffix OAM after their names.

Additionally a number of surf lifesavers who have devoted their professional lives to the emergency services sector received meritorious awards.

Chief Inspector Paul Fownes, president of South Maroubra was awarded an Australian Police Medal (APM).

Deputy Commissioner of Marine Rescue NSW and keen Cronulla surf lifesaver Dean Storey received an Emergency Services Medal (ESM), while Alan Cooper (Cronulla SLSC) received an Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM).

SLSNSW CEO Steven Pearce said he was delighted by the number of recipients of awards from within the ranks of the Surf Life Saving movement.

“Our members are community minded individuals and this is highlighted by the efforts of those who received honours this year for their work both on and off the beach.

“They all boast impressive community service records and we are lucky that they have donated their time to our wonderful movement over the years,” Mr Pearce said.

Surf Life Saving NSW would like to extend its congratulations to all those who received Australia Day Honours.

Australia Day Honours Recipients in NSW

  • Ms Romilly Madew – AO

  • David Thompson – AM

  • Paul Sinclair – AM

  • Barry Bennett - OAM

  • Donald Clinch – OAM

  • Patrick Connelly – OAM

  • William Cook – OAM

  • Robert Dan – OAM

  • Ian Hanson – OAM

  • Rex Harding – OAM

  • The late John Ludlow – OAM

  • Paul McGrath – OAM

  • David O’Brien – OAM

  • Greg Roberts – OAM

  • Geoff Searl – OAM

  • Karl Solomonson – OAM

  • Steve Strange – OAM

  • Chief Inspector Paul Fownes – APM

  • Deputy Commissioner of Marine Rescue NSW Dean Storey – ESM

  • Alan Cooper - AFSM


Wednesday 30 January 2019