Skip to main content
The state’s dedicated volunteers continue to receive recognition at a national level with a number NSW surf lifesavers winning awards at the 2016 SLSA Awards of Excellence in Sydney on Saturday.

Kane Hughes from North Cronulla SLSC was crowned Lifesaver of the Year thanks to his efforts for his club and Surf Life Saving Sydney. The current Vice Captain and Patrol Captain at North Cronulla, spends his patrol hours mentoring young SRC and Bronze Medallion holders.

His contribution to the Surf Life Saving Sydney Support Operations Group is evident, also being on a Duty Officer roster where he attends major incident callouts, along with attending carnivals as an Official, Water Safety Coordinator and Emergency Services Officer.

Umina SLSC young gun and Australian Life Saving Youth Team Captain, Jemma Smith was awarded Youth Athlete of the Year after an incredible year in the water. Since July 2015 the talented 17-year-old has been selected in NSW and Australian teams and toured New Zealand with the U18 Development Pool squad.

At the 2016 NSW Championships held at her home beach she finished with 10 medals including 6 gold, while at the Aussies she came away with 9 medals (6 gold) and the title of Female Athlete of the Championships.

Wayne Druery (Cronulla SLSC) won Official of the Year after a phenomenal season on the beach where he was at the forefront of reshaping the format and implementing a new program of events at the 2016 NSW Age Championships.

A number of our members received Meritorious citations for their courageous efforts in rescues throughout the year, including NSW Rescue of the Year recipients, Macksville-Scotts Head SLSC.

Peter Connell (Cudgen Headland) and Richard Bignold (Cronulla) were rewarded for their dedication to Surf Life Saving, officially recognised by their elevation to Life Membership of SLSA.

Meritorious Award Recipients:

  • Individual Certificate of Merit: Debrah Cheers, Adam Williams and Chris Dennis - Fingal Rovers SLSC

  • Individual Certificate of Merit with Bronze Insert: Saul Duran ALS NSW Ballina

  • Group Certificate of Merit: Lachlan and Sean O’Reilly - Coffs Harbour SLSC

  • Group Certificate of Merit: Avoca Beach SLSC

  • Group Certificate of Merit: Bulli SLSC

  • Group Certificate of Merit with Bronze Insert: Macksville-Scott Heads SLSC

  • Group Certificate of Merit with Bronze Insert: North Bondi SLSC (Patrol 14)


Sunday 23 October 2016