Skip to main content

Surf Life Saving NSW congratulates the eleven athletes chosen to be part of the 2018 Australian Life Saving Team High Performance Squad.

The announcement on Friday keeps alive the dream of being chosen to represent their country when the World Lifesaving Championships return to Australia later this year.

All of the NSW athletes chosen have had international experience before with several of the side being part of the 2014 and 2016 all-conquering Youth Teams, highlighting the importance of pathways to eventual senior success.

Each of those selected have enjoyed stellar campaigns over the summer season including at the Commonwealth Games in the case of Bradley Woodward, and competition for a spot in the team is sure to be fierce.

The NSW athletes selected form a key part of the 38-strong squad from around the country with the announcement coming ahead of a busy campaign for the green and golds.

In June a team will head to Japan to contest the Sanyo Cup where the Australians are aiming for an 11th straight title, while in September a modified German Cup will be staged in Warendorf providing a competitive hit-out just eight weeks out from the World Championships.

NSW Surf Sports Manager Rob Pidgeon said the selection of so many of the state’s competitors underscores the depth of talent both in the surf and on the beach.

“I would like to congratulate these eleven competitors who have earned selection in the Australian squad.

“Each of them has demonstrated sustained success over many years and have consistently performed well at club, state, national and international levels,” Mr Pidgeon said.

The squad will be whittled down in the coming weeks with the Open and Youth Australian Lifesaving teams to be named later this month. The Aussies will take on the world in November in Adelaide.

For further information, visit the 2018 World Lifesaving Championships website.

NSW Athletes Included In 2018 Australian High Performance Squad;

Max Brooks – Newport SLSC

Daniel Collins – Redhead SLSC

Blake Drysdale – Newport SLSC

Ngaire Hadfield – Cronulla SLSC

Kendrick Louis – Manly LSC

Jake Lynch – Newport SLSC

Georgia Miller - Newport SLSC

Jemma Smith – Umina SLSC

Lizzie Welborn – North Bondi SLSC

Rachel Wood – Umina SLSC

Bradley Woodward – Shelly Beach SLSC


Friday 4 May 2018