Skip to main content

Surf Life Saving NSW is pleased to announce the 24-strong team who will compete next month at the 2019 Interstate Championships in Newport.

New South Wales (NSW) is looking to retain the Interstate trophy for yet another year with a strong team of experienced and emerging athletes, some of who are shaping up to be the best new talent in surf sports.

The depth of talent in the squad is impressive. Many selected athletes have just returned from their Australian campaign at the World Lifesaving Championships in Adelaide with reputable results under their belt.

Selectors are confident they have chosen a team with the quality to maintain Interstate Champion Status into 2019.

“Selecting a team isn’t an easy task. It was important to chose the strongest and most versatile team possible, and with Australian representative athletes like Sam Zustovich and Jemma Smith, we are looking race ready,” said NSW Surf Sports Development Coordinator Chiara Nowland.

“We’re looking forward to seeing what the team can do and would like to congratulate all those selected. We wish them and the coaching staff the very best of luck as they work to uphold their victory over Queensland.”

The Interstate Championships are a highlight of the surf sport representative season. Each state is allowed to field a maximum of 12 competitors (six male, six female) in the Open and Youth category.

NSW 2019 Interstate Open Team

Alex Rampoldi (North Cronulla)

Chloe Mannix-Power (Cronulla)

Naomi Scott (Manly)

Jemma  Smith (Umina)

Lizzie Welborn (North Bondi)

Madison Spencer (Newport)

Jackson Borg (Newport)

Max Brooks (Newport)

Mitchell Trim (Newport)

Jake Lynch (Newport)

Jay Furniss (Manly)

Blake Drysdale (Newport)

NSW 2019 Interstate Youth Team

Isabellah Walker (Cronulla)

Madison Louw (Newport)

Nicola Owen (Redhead)

Emily Doyle (Newport)

Leah Rampoldi   (North Cronulla)

Georgia Sinclair  (Wanda SLSC)

Sam Zustovich    (Mollymook)

Zach Morris (Newport)

Noah Havard (North Bondi)

Hugh McAlpine (Newport)

Jamee Smith (Wanda)

Bailey Johns (Avoca)

Team Management

Lead Coach; Jim Walker (North Bondi)

Assistant Coach; Scott Thomson (North Bondi)

Assistant Coach; Daniel Robberds (Mollymook)

Team Manager; Stephen Marley (Catherine Hill Bay)

Team Manager; Greg Pierce (Wanda)


Wedensday 19 December 2018