Skip to main content
The first medals for the 2017 NSW Championships have been awarded after a highly competitive Champion Lifesaver event at Blacksmiths Beach on Saturday.

With only the first two finishers earning a starting position at The Aussies in April there was a lot at stake for the competitors in the decidedly overcast conditions that greeted them on the competition’s opening day.

The Champion Lifesaver event is for individuals (both male and female) in the U15, 17, 19, Open, 30-39 and 40+ Age groups. It consists of three parts; a multiple choice exam, CPR scenarios, and a skills competition in a Beach Sprint, Surf Race, Board Race, and Tube Race.

To be crowned champion, a lifesaver must perform at a highly competent level throughout the entirety of the event.

2017 Champion Lifesaver Event – Medallists

Open Male

William McCance – Bronte SLSC

Leigh Ryan – Bronte SLSC

Peter Euers – Newport SLSC

Open Female

Phoebe Savage – Newport SLSC

Clare Freakley – Freshwater SLSC

Alanna Street – Cronulla SLSC

U19 Male

Jackson Borg – Newport SLSC

Harry Hickey – North Steyne SLSC

Alex Malm – Freshwater SLSC

U19 Female

Mollie Murphy – Umina Beach SLSC

Tahlia Dearden – Freshwatrer SLSC

Sophia Tonoli – Newport SLSC

U17 Male

William Davison – Coogee SLSC

Christopher Curulli – Manly LSC

Max Moon – Manly LSC

U17 Female

Vicki Cuthbert – Manly LSC

Andrea Malm – Freshwater SLSC

Samantha Goldrick – Maroubra SLSC

U15 Male

Joe Jenkins – North Steyne SLSC

Lachlan Braddish – Umina Beach SLSC

Jethro Mulder – South Curl Curl SLSC

U15 Female

Kirsten Miller – Umina Beach SLSC

Emily Thornton – Queenscliff SLSC

Sarah Murdoch – Manly LSC

30-39 Male

Michail Papadopoulous – Coogee SLSC

Stephen Iannazzo – Bronte SLSC

Maxwell Gonzalez – Bronte SLSC

30-39 Female

Amy Teale – Coogee SLSC

Shelley Smith – Umina Beach SLSC

Emma Larssen – Cronulla SLSC

40+ Male

Anthony Shubitz – Coogee SLSC

Robert Illidge - Coogee SLSC

Guyren Smith – Newport SLSC

40+ Female

Christine Bishop – Umina Beach SLSC

Deborah Foote - North Steyne SLSC

Jan Proudfoot – Newport SLSC

A full list of results is also available via

The 2017 NSW Surf Life Saving Championships proudly supported by your Local Club continue at Blacksmiths Beach, Swansea tomorrow Sunday 26 February with the Patrol Teams Competition.


Saturday 25 February 2017