Skip to main content

Australia’s newest surf sports series is off and running with four NSW teams and 32 athletes lining up against the best of the rest at Round 1 of the inaugural Super Surf Teams League at Bulli Beach on Sunday.

The series is a state-against-state, fast and furious style competition designed to provide a pathway for competitive athletes to the elite Iron series events, or just gives them the chance to pit their skills against other skilled competitors and earn points for their teams at the same time.

Thirteen teams from around the country hit Bulli Beach with the Northern Beaches Rays, Sydney City Sharks, Hunter Central Coast Orcas and NSW Country Dolphins the four NSW teams that competed in the traditional Ski, Swim, Board, Sprint and Flags events, as well as the Ocean M Relay (Run, Swim, Board and Ski).

The female surf race came down to a tight sprint finish with Under 17 NSW Ironwoman Champion Bella Williams (Cooks Hill) securing the win for the Hunter Central Coast Orcas.

Millimetres defined the women’s board race as a wave from the cans carried all 13 women to shore but it was Sydney City Sharks Elyssa Pierce (Wanda) who crossed the line first in a sprint finish.

The Hunter Central Coast Orcas and Sydney City Sharks were head-to-head the entire length of the male board race, with Chris King (Elouera) from the Sharks edging out Orcas Nick Stoddart (Swansea Belmont).

Sydney Sharks’ Carla Papac (Wanda) and Northern Beaches Rays Emily Doyle (Newport) kept the pressure on the Queensland Country Canecutters in the female ski, with Emily finishing in a close third and Carla in fourth.

NSW competitors dominated the men’s flags with Country Dolphins young gun Sam Zustovich (Mollymook) securing the win and Orcas Blake Drysdale (Newport) coming in second.

Round one of the Super Surf Teams League will be broadcast on Fox Sports on Sunday 8 December from 2pm AEDT.

The second round of the Super Surf Teams League will head to Surfers Paradise on December 15 ahead of Round 4 of the Nutri-Grain IronMan and IronWoman Series.

Current Pointscore

Team Round One Overall
QLD Country Canecutters 133 13
Scarborough Sunsets 110 12
Northern Beaches Rays 106 11
Sunshine Coast Marlins 103 10
Sydney City Sharks 99 9
Point Danger Seawolves 95 8
South Coast Makos 92 7
Victoria Blues 90 6
Hunter Central Coast Orcas 89 5
Broome Pearlers 78 4
NSW Country Dolphins 77 3
Margaret River Waves 67 2
SA Reds 44 1


Wednesday 4 December 2019