Skip to main content

Surf Life Saving NSW is pleased to confirm the selection of 10 volunteer surf lifesavers who will travel to Queensland later this month for a unique leadership opportunity.

Nine clubs from across the state will be represented at the 2018 Surf Life Saving Queensland Leadership Excellence Program which will be held at the University of Queensland from 23 – 25 November.

Those selected for the program (aimed at 18-30 year olds) have impressed their clubs and branches with their commitment to the Surf Life Saving movement and obvious leadership potential.

The objective of the Queensland program is to introduce young adult members of the association to the more formal and responsible roles available within Surf Life Saving while also building on important skills such as leadership, teamwork and communication.

This year marks a first for Surf Life Saving NSW as it’s the first time that the young leaders will be travelling to Queensland instead of the traditional Development Networking Program.

The genesis of the idea arose from a genuine desire for the two largest lifesaving states to collaborate together, and it is expected that the NSW lifesavers will learn a lot from their northern counterparts.

In addition, facilitators Jake McDonald and Shannon Fox will also travel with the group as a development opportunity.

NSW Member Services Officer Naomi Stevenson said the opportunity to work with SLSQ was too good to miss.

“As an organisation we’re passionate in creating as many development opportunities for all of our members including the youth age group.

“It’s important that we engage with the young members and encourage them to stay invested in the movement,” said Ms Stevenson.

“I would like to congratulate all those selected for the program and we look forward to hearing about their experiences upon their return,” she concluded

2018 Leadership Excellence Program NSW Participants

  • Corey McNiff (Wauchope-Bonny Hills SLSC)

  • Elizabeth Brydon (Nobbys Beach SLSC)

  • Kieran Menzies (Newport SLSC)

  • Alexander Burchett (Whale Beach SLSC)

  • Suzannah Bownes (Whale Beach SLSC)

  • Alexander Lincoln-Dodgson (Bondi SBLSC)

  • Andi Illidge (Coogee SLSC)

  • Kassandra Chan (North Wollongong)

  • Ainslie Scully (Moruya SLSC)

  • Emma Prowse (Pambula SLSC)

Thursday 1 November 2018