Skip to main content

Due to the inclement weather experienced off the NSW Coast last weekend, Round 3 of the 2018 NSW IRB Premiership Series slated to be held at Umina Beach was cancelled.

With no competition possible, points will not be awarded for the round with current rankings to stand leading into the final meeting at Caves Beach on June 16 – 17.

Surf Life Saving NSW have investigated the possibility of holding the round at the conclusion of competition in Round 4, but this was not deemed practical due to the positive growth in participation leading to an already very tight timetable.

NSW Surf Sports Manager Rob Pidgeon said it was a difficult decision to come to.

“While it’s obviously a disappointing decision to have to make conditions at Umina simply weren’t conducive to racing.

“For us the safety of the competitors will always be the highest priority, and I would like to thank team managers, senior competitors and officials for their part in the consultation to assist the Safety Competition Committee to make the recommendation not to go ahead at Umina”.

“It’s frustrating for the club that they weren’t able to make the most of their first time hosting an IRB Premiership Round, and the first SLSNSW surf sports event to be held at venue since the 2016 State Championships. These things however are a reality of our autumn/winter disciplines of the sport,” said Mr Pidgeon.

“I would like to thank the team from Umina SLSC for being such amicable hosts, and hope that they will again put their hands up to host a round when nominations open up for the 2019 season.”

2018 NSW IRB Sharkskin Premiership Series Standings

Caves Beach SLSC (20 points)

Kiama Downs SLSC (18 points)

Terrigal SLSC (16 points)

North Cronulla SLSC (14 points)

Woonona SLSC (11 points)

Queenscliff SLSC (11 points)

South Maroubra SLSC (6 points)

Newcastle SLSC (4 points)

Forster SLSC (4 points)

Catherine Hill Bay SLSC (3 points)

Overall rankings are based on the results of the opening rounds of the series, and are correct as of Monday 5 June


Tuesday 5 June 2018