Skip to main content

Surf Life Saving NSW is pleased to announce the 24-strong team for both the state and country who will compete next month at the 2020 Interstate Championships in Queensland.

NSW is hoping to secure a three-peat when they hit the beach at Alexandra Headland, Queensland for the Interstate Championships late next month. In 2019 NSW took out the Youth Trophy, Opens Trophy and the overall point score with the NSW Country team taking out fifth place overall.

The elite surf sports event that was first run in the 1975 season sees the best athletes from across the country go head-to-head in 46 events including Iron events, Board, Ski, Surf Race, Rescue events, Beach Flags, Sprints and relays.

Selectors have said both the NSW and Country teams are packed with the most experienced and emerging athletes who they are confident will be able to defend the title and continue to build upon NSW impressive Interstate history.

NSW Captain Mitchell Trim is honoured to once again lead the stacked team, “We have a really exciting team for 2020 both in the Youth and in the Opens. We have gone with two very talented beach competitors hoping that we can dominate again on the sand again.

Our water competitors are all very experienced and are on fire in the Nutrigrain Iron series. Lizzie Welborn has been exceptional in the series as well as Dan Collins who stepped up another notch on the weekend at in round four of the event. Noah Havard has also been leading the way and Emily Doyle got third in the Summer of Surf Iron on the weekend.

Always honoured to lead his state, he said, “I will never turn down an opportunity to captain the state team. I love the team environment and try to lead from the front every race. I know I will look back in a few years and really cherish these moments leading some really talented athletes.

“I’m confident we can go up to Queensland and bring home the Interstates Title for the third year,” Trim said.

NSW 2020 Interstate Open Team


  • Nicola Owen (Redhead)

  • Emily Doyle (Newport)

  • Jasmine Locke (Bulli)

  • Leah Rampoldi (North Cronulla)

  • Grace Hewitt (Fingal)

  • Bella Williams (Cooks Hill)

  • Noah Havard (North Bondi)

  • Finn Askew (Newport)

  • Zac Morris (Newport)

  • Kye Taylor (Swansea Belmont)

  • Ace Haslam (Cronulla)

  • Jack Bridges (Mollymook)


  • Naomi Scott (Manly)

  • Jemma Smith (Umina)

  • Britney Pierce (Wanda)

  • Isabellah Walker (Cronulla)

  • Lizzie Welborn (Newport)

  • Alex Rampoldi (North Cronulla)

  • Max Brooks (Newport)

  • Daniel Collins (Redhead)

  • Jackson Borg (Newport)

  • CAPTAIN - Mitchell Trim (Newport)

  • Sam Zustovich (Mollymook)

  • Jamee Smith (Wanda)


  • Lead Coach:  Jim Walker

  • Assistant Coach:  Scott Thomson

  • Assistant Coach:  Daniel Robberds

  • Team Manager:  Greg Pierce

NSW Country Head Coach Scott McCartney (Cudgen Headland) says the importance of the team is now being felt and noticed among the country clubs, “It’s awesome for the Country Team to be involved in the Interstates event. It’s our third year to field a separate team to the NSW team. It’s a great chance for our athletes to go up against the biggest and toughest competition of the year and we’re seeing a new momentum among our country members.”

The Country is building momentum with the strength of their team each year, “For the country athletes, having this team in place has shown there is a solid pathway for them. They now can be encouraged to stay at their home regional clubs, not move to city clubs to increase their chance for representation and participation in these big events,” said McCartney.

“Both our Youth and Open teams have really put their heads down and put the work in this year which has shown at the NSW Interbranch and Summer of Surf events in the last month,” he said.

And as for who to look out for the veteran coach says, “We’re so glad to have Lily O’Sullivan lining up as well as Maise Miller who has been in the team since she’s been able to compete. She always puts up great results. Nathan Mackenzie has come off a hot Interbranch results winning the Board Race and taking second in the Iron while Hayley Smith also won the Board Race. Our representation on the beach will be equally as strong,” he said.

2020 NSW Country Interstate Team Selection:


  • Maisie Miller (Lennox Head-Alstonville)

  • Olissa Onley (Cudgen)

  • Lily O’Sullivan (Cudgen)

  • Kirra Dale (Warilla-Barrack Point)

  • Grace Eady (Byron Bay)

  • Claire Van Kampen (Cape Hawke)

  • Nicholas Bulloch (Coffs Harbour)

  • Joseph Warne (Cudgen)

  • Liam Worling (Cudgen)

  • Jayden Allen (Warilla-Barrack Point)

  • Nathan Mackenzie (Lennox Head-Alstonville)

  • Tyler Sweetman (Cape Hawke)


  • Chloe Jones (Cudgen)

  • Taylah Allen (Warilla-Barrack Point)

  • Anthea Warne (Cudgen)

  • Sofie Boyd (Cudgen)

  • Hayley Smith (Cudgen)

  • Cahrizma MacDonald-cass (Cabarita)

  • Bailey Copeland (Cudgen)

  • Kai Onley (Cudgen)

  • CAPTAIN - Angus MacPhail (Cudgen)

  • Brock Scrivener (Mollymook)

  • Cody Bell (Cudgen)

  • Scott McCartney (Cudgen)


  • Head Coach: Scott McCartney

  • Assistant Coach: Susan McCaughtrie

The 2020 Interstate Championships will be held on 24 January 2020 at Alexandra Headland SLSC, Queensland and will be live streamed on Surf Life Saving Australia’s Facebook page.


Monday 16 December 2019