Skip to main content

Nearly 40 of the state’s best and up-and-coming Inflatable Rescue Boat racers are ready to compete for glory this weekend when the Sharkskin Australian and Interstate IRB Championships kick off at Kingscliff from 20-23 July.

The NSW Interstate and Development teams were picked based on the strength of their performances during the Sharkskin NSW IRB Premiership series and the NSW Championships.

Caves Beach SLSC and Kiama Downs SLSC dominate the selections among the Interstate team, making up nearly half the squad after finishing first and second, respectively in both the IRB Premiership and State Championships.

North Cronulla SLSC, Newport SLSC and South Maroubra SLSC contribute the remaining members, with most notably the former of the three club’s impressive women’s contingent rewarded for their form over the past two months.

Indeed, Katlynn Coglan, Lucy Green and Jessica Walmsley from the Bate Bay club were among those named in a second straight Interstate team.

The NSW Development Team is dominated by Caves Beach, with eight of the 18-strong squad coming from the Hunter.

North Cronulla and Newport contribute a handful of members while three from Thirroul SLSC join Alisha Cech from Terrigal SLSC in helping to round out the final four competitors.

The Interstate title will be contested on Thursday 20 July, ahead of the Australian IRB Championships over the following three days.

NSW Interstate Team

Oliver Kleyn – Caves Beach SLSC

Luke Warzecha – Caves Beach SLSC

Luke Walmsley  – Caves Beach SLSC

Nathan Foster – Kiama Downs SLSC

Jordan Dusmanovic – Kiama Downs SLSC

Ryan Alves – North Cronulla SLSC

Luke Thornton – Newport SLSC

William Shaddock – South Maroubra SLSC

Kai Jones – South Maroubra SLSC

Madison Doosey – Kiama Downs SLSC

Kathy Foster – Kiama Downs SLSC

Ella Cleal-Cook – Kiama Downs SLSC

Katlynn Coglan – North Cronulla SLSC

Lucy Green – North Cronulla SLSC

Jessica Walmsley – North Cronulla SLSC

Melisse Cooper – Newport SLSC

Emily Thornton – Newport SLSC

Tara Georgas – South Maroubra SLSC

NSW Development Team

William Coppen – Caves Beach SLSC

Jacob Davies – Caves Beach SLSC

Flynn Wallace-Smith – Caves Beach SLSC

Daniel Ward – Caves Beach SLSC

Nathan Illes – North Cronulla SLSC

Zach Van Dam – Newport SLSC

Thomas Doyle – Newport SLSC

Jayden Keys – Thirroul SLSC

Jack Lynch – Thirroul SLSC

Victoria Coppen – Caves Beach SLSC

Makayla Gay – Caves Beach SLSC

Gabby Grieves – Caves Beach SLSC

Shae Harvey – Caves Beach SLSC

Lily Hook – North Cronulla SLSC

Hannah Berman – North Cronulla SLSC

Sabrina Warwar – Newport SLSC

Samara Turner – Thirroul SLSC

Alisha Cech – Terrigal SLSC

Wednesday 19 July 2023