Skip to main content

Surf Life Saving NSW is pleased to announce the NSW Youth Pathway Cup representative team. The 20 Under 14 and 15 athletes will head to Alexandra Headland on the Sunshine Coast in January to defend their title.

The Youth Pathway Cup offers the best Under 14 and 15 athletes across beach and water disciplines the opportunity to compete at an elite level alongside the senior NSW Interstate team.

The 2020 event will be the third year the Youth Pathway Cup has been run. Established to support the development of Australia’s brightest young athletes, it is a team-orientated event where every race counts.

“It really is a great pathway for our future state, national and international athletes,” said SLSNSW Director of Surf Sports Don van Keimpema. “The event is in place to provide fundamental representative opportunities to young athletes already demonstrating talent in surf sports.”

Each state fields a team. Squads consist of five male and five female athletes in each age group who are selected for their versatility and results over the last season.

Head Coach Rachelle King (Terrigal) said selecting the NSW team was a tough process, “Last weekend’s Interbranch Championships at Bulli provided the opportunity for the athletes to state their case for selection. We’re lucky to have such a strong pool to pick from and are very happy with the squad we’ve chosen for January’s event.”

The 2020 Under 14s team has drawn from six of the 11 NSW branches. They will look to the Under 15s including Australian Champions the Morris brothers, to inspire them to defend their undefeated title.

The NSW Youth Pathway Cup team will go into camp on Wednesday 22 January 2020 with the competition to be held on January 24, alongside the Interstate Championships at Alexandra Headland, QLD.

2020 NSW Youth Pathway Cup Team

Under 14:

  • Yasmeen Janschek (Coogee)

  • Zara Foran (Swansea Belmont)

  • Lani Waller (Cooks Hill)

  • India Hulbert (Wanda)

  • Georgina Prowse (North Curl Curl)

  • Brayden Woodford (Bulli)

  • Noah Nakagawa (Wamberal)

  • Maalik Moston (Lennox Head-Alstonville)

  • Conner Maggs (Newport)

  • Fletcher Warn (Wanda) 

Under 15:

  • Mia Cracknell (Avoca)

  • Natalia Drobot (Avoca)

  • Emelyn Wheeler (Terrigal)

  • Chelsea Jones (Bulli)

  • Kimberley Doyle (Newport)

  • Bailey Clues (Newport)

  • Jake Morris (Newport)

  • Mitchell Morris (Newport)

  • Aymn Hamilton (Terrigal)

  • Jackson Blake (Warilla-Barrack Point)

Team Management:

  • Head Coach: Rachelle King (Terrigal)

  • Team Manager: Monique Williams (Cooks Hill)

  • Assistant Coach: Michael Gedz (Queenscliff)

  • Assistant Coach: Thomas Simpson (Shelly Beach)


Thursday 12 December 2019