Skip to main content

Seven NSW surf lifesavers will attend the 2020 Surf Life Saving Australia National Leadership College - the leadership and development program for young leaders.

The Leadership College gives young members who are committed to making a difference, the chance to be part of creating an effective national movement.

This year, the NSW Multicultural and Indigenous scholarship recipient is William Chan from Tamarama SLSCWilliam joined Tamarama SLSC in 2013 where he completed his Bronze Medallion.

An award-winning surf lifesaver, William fostered inclusive communities by teaching surf safety to more than 2,000 refugees and migrants. He created a more welcoming community for young people from abroad and was recently nominated for the Young Australian of the Year Award.

William said that he was delighted to have been accepted into the Leadership College program.

“I feel very honoured and humbled. This encourages me to continue with what I’m doing to build communities and to address social inclusion,” said William Chan.

The National Leadership College is a week long intesive training course focused on guiding participats to finding their owen leadership style.

The program challenges participants to think strategically about the future of Surf Life Saving in the company of peers from clubs around Australia. They will develop their leadership knowledge, learn new skills and create opportunities for personal growth through networking and exposure to lifesaving pathways.

“My passion is about designing dignity into our community. It’s about opening up Australian beaches to be enjoyed by all - regardless of where you come from. The Leadership College program will give me additional skills to continue to drive strategic change,” said William Chan.

Surf Life Saving NSW congratulates our seven members who have been selected to attend the 2020 National Leadership College.

The seven selected National Leadership College participants are:

  • Morgan Clarke (Woonona SLSC)

  • Mikaela Sutherland (Wanda SLSC)

  • Lucy Ellis (Evans Head Casino)

  • Jedd Goggin (Wauchope Bonny Hills/Maroubra SLSC)

  • Jackson Towns (Elouera SLSC)

  • Braeden McHugh-Easy (Brunswick SLSC)

  • Ho Yin William Chan (Tamarama SLSC)

Friday 22 November 2019